Annual Report 2010–2011

Fostering transparent lobbying activities

Transparency in lobbying activities is a key objective of the Lobbying Act (the Act). Public office holders and the public should know who is engaged in lobbying activities with the federal government. To that end, the Act mandates that the Commissioner of Lobbying establish and maintain a Registry of Lobbyists (the Registry), which is accessible 24 hours a day, seven days a week on my Office's website.

The Registry discloses details about who is being paid to communicate with federal public office holders and on what subject matter. It is the central source of information about individuals, not-for-profit organizations and for-profit corporations who lobby the federal government by communicating with elected officials or public servants. Over 5,000 lobbyists are registered with my Office, and, as the table below demonstrates, this number has remained relatively stable over the past few years.

Active lobbyists by type — as of March 31
  2011 2010 2009
Consultant lobbyists 814 753 873
In-house lobbyists (corporations) 1,808 1,791 1,817
In-house lobbyists (organizations) 2,507 2,725 2,936
Total registered individual lobbyists (all types) 5,129 5,269 5,626
Active registrations by category — as of March 31
  2011 2010 2009
Consultant lobbyists (one registration per client) 2,136 2,229 2,253
Corporations 311 291 303
Organizations 484 434 487
Total active registrations (all categories) 2,931 2,954 3,043

The information contained in the Registry includes:

  • who lobbies for which firms, corporations, organizations or associations;
  • which parent and subsidiary companies or corporations benefit from lobbying activities;
  • the organizational members of coalition groups;
  • a general description of the subject matter of lobbying activities, as well as some details;
  • which Government of Canada departments or agencies are being contacted;
  • the names and descriptions of the specific legislative proposals, bills, regulations, policies, programs of interest and grants, contributions or contracts sought;
  • the positions former public office holders have held within the Government of Canada before they started lobbying; and
  • information regarding oral and arranged communications with designated public office holders.

The information contained in the Registry is publicly available online and is searchable by users at no cost. In addition to providing individual registrations, the system can produce standard reports that demonstrate such information as: the number of active lobbyists by type of lobbyist, the number of active registrations by type, the number of active registrations listing each subject matter, or the number of active registrations listing each federal government institution. It is also possible to generate a list of recent registrations, singling out new, updated or reactivated registrations, as well as registrations that have been terminated during the previous 30 days.

In accordance with the Act, registrants must disclose oral and arranged communications with designated public office holders (DPOHs) on a monthly basis. The Act defines DPOHs as senior federal government decision-makers, including ministers, their staff, deputy ministers and assistant deputy ministers. The Act also gives the Governor in Council the authority to further designate positions as DPOH by way of regulation. In July 2008, 11 positions were so designated, including seven senior positions in the Canadian Armed Forces, two classes of positions in the Privy Council Office, and the Comptroller General of Canada.

In September 2010, the Regulations were amended to expand the DPOH sub-category to include Members of the House of Commons and the Senate. These amendments resulted in a dramatic increase in the number of communication reports submitted by lobbyists, as demonstrated in the chart below. I believe that the reporting of these communications enhances the transparency of lobbying activities at the federal level. The Registration system is robust and is handling the significant increase in the volume of communication reporting with ease.

Figure 1: Number of oral and arranged communications disclosed, by month
Number of oral and arranged communications disclosed, by month Description of Figure 1

Processing registrations faster

The information submitted by lobbyists in their initial registrations is reviewed by my Office for completeness and certified by the registrant for accuracy. In the interest of transparency, it is crucial that the information disclosed in a registration be made available publicly as soon as possible. To that end, significant efforts were dedicated this year to reduce processing times in order to accelerate the posting of registrations in the Registry. Processes have been simplified and streamlined with a view to ensuring that registrations are completed and published in the Registry faster and more efficiently.

As a result, the average processing time for initial registrations over the course of one year was reduced from more than 20 days to three days. I believe that this greatly improves transparency of lobbying activities at the federal level because information on federal lobbying activities is made available to Canadians sooner. Service standards for registration processing times have also been updated and implemented, and will be reported on in future annual reports.

Ensuring the integrity of the Registry data

The Registry of Lobbyists is a database that contains extensive information on lobbying activities conducted at the federal level since 1996. This past year, my Office has worked on developing protocols and quality assurance programs to ensure the integrity of the data contained in the Registry.

For example, a number of registrations containing what are referred to as "orphan" subject matters or government institutions have been identified. These "orphans" refer to a new subject matter or government institution added by registrants through a monthly communication report without amending the initial registration it related to, as required by the Act. Communication reports only disclose the broad subject matter being discussed, whereas initial registrations contain a range of details relating to that same subject matter, such as a description and title of a bill, policy or program, etc. A new feature was added to the Registry to require that registrants update their initial registrations when adding a new subject matter or government institution via a monthly communication report. This translates into improved transparency since it facilitates adherence to the requirements of the Act and, in particular, requires disclosure of the details relating to subject matters.

As part of its ongoing quality assurance program, my Office also realized that in some instances, the disclosure of the interests being represented by lobbyists was not entirely transparent. Some consultant lobbyists are being 'sub-contracted' by lobbying firms to undertake lobbying activities and represent a third party, the ultimate client. The Act currently requires consultant lobbyists to disclose their 'client', which could be interpreted to be the consulting firm which has, in fact, hired the lobbyist, rather than the client he or she ultimately represents. In the interest of transparency, I adopted the practice of requiring consultant lobbyists to disclose both the lobbying firm for which they are working directly as well as the client they ultimately represent. In my March 2011 submission to the House of Commons Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics1, I recommended that the Act be amended to make explicit the requirement for consultant lobbyists to disclose both the firm hiring them and the client they are ultimately representing.

Rigorous testing has always been undertaken whenever changes were made to the Lobbyists Registration System. Nevertheless, as a result of a coding error discovered in one of our online Statistical Reports in August 2010, I implemented measures to strengthen our quality assurance program. Upon discovering the error, my Office took steps to improve the testing of the system, and introduced enhanced data integrity checks. In addition, an internal audit of the registry system is planned for 2011–2012.

Strengthening standards for client service

I am proud of the quality of the services my Office provides to registrants and their efforts to continually improve it. Service standards are key to monitoring the performance of the organization and represent a valuable internal management tool. This year, client service standards were updated and expanded to provide a more cost-effective and efficient registration process. The revised standards will be implemented in 2011–2012.

According to our adopted service standards, my Office will aim to:

  • activate user accounts within 24 hours upon receipt of a completed Registrant User Agreement;
  • approve or provide feedback on registrations within three business days;
  • answer telephone calls received during business hours within 30 seconds, 80% of the time;
  • respond to phone messages within 24 hours;
  • acknowledge receipt of e-mail inquiries within 24 hours; and
  • respond to less complex e-mail inquiries within two business days, and within 14 calendar days to more complex questions.

In 2010–2011, a new call distribution and management system was implemented to respond more effectively to the needs of clients. As a result, more calls are being answered directly by Registration Advisors, rather than being sent to voicemail. One of the useful features of the system is that it allows callers to directly access their designated Registration Advisor. I believe this helps to simplify the registration process.

Using the information in the Registry more broadly

Monthly communication reports, which were introduced by the Lobbying Act, have made a wealth of new information regarding communications between lobbyists and senior federal government decision-makers available to Canadians. The reports provide timely information on who is lobbying high-level public office holders, and regarding which subject matter. This information increases transparency by providing a more complete picture of lobbying activities conducted at the federal level. With the expansion of the category of designated public office holder in September 2010, Canadians are now more aware when Members of Parliament and Senators have oral and arranged communications with registered lobbyists, and the subject matter of these discussions. Together with the extensive and detailed information contained in initial registrations submitted by lobbyists, these reports serve Canadians well in understanding the extent of lobbying activities conducted at the federal level. Media articles often reference the Registry of Lobbyists, and use the information contained within it to describe lobbying activities.

Responding to increased requests for Registry data

The current trend towards open government has resulted in an increased demand for my Office to provide Registry information in alternative formats. In 2010–2011, my Office responded to nine separate requests from media and academics for large-scale datasets of Registry information. The growing number of requests suggests that, while the availability of Registry data is contributing to increased transparency of lobbying activities, it is not structured in a way that readily allows for easy large-scale analysis. That is why my Office is working to determine how to organize the Registry data most effectively in order to facilitate analytical work, from which all Canadians may benefit.

Improving transparency

The requirement for lobbyists to disclose their communications with designated public office holders enhances the transparency of lobbying activities. In 2010–2011, 11,098 communications were reported by lobbyists, an average of 925 per month. However, there is still room for improvement in this regard. In my March 2011 submission to the House of Commons Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics, I highlighted four areas where the Lobbying Act could be amended to further improve transparency.

First, the Lobbying Act currently requires corporations (for-profit) and organizations (not-for-profit) to be registered only once the threshold set by the significant part of duties test is met (currently interpreted as 20 percent of the equivalent of one person's time over a one-month period). If these lobbyists determine that they do not meet the threshold, they do not have to register. The Registry will, therefore, contain no information about their lobbying activities. As well, their oral and arranged communications with DPOHs are not required to be disclosed in monthly communication reports. For this reason, I recommended to Parliament that the provisions regarding the 'significant part of duties' be removed from the Act to require that all corporations and organizations register their lobbying activities. I further recommended that exemptions for some be considered to avoid creating an undue burden.

Second, the Act requires that monthly communication reports currently list the name of the DPOH with whom the communication took place and the name of the senior officer of a corporation or organization who is responsible for filing the registration. The Act does not require that the names of the in-house lobbyists who actually participated in the oral and arranged communication with the DPOH be listed in the monthly communication report. I, therefore, recommended that the Act be amended to require corporations and organizations to list the names of the lobbyists present during the communication as well as the name of the most senior officer.

Third, the Act currently requires lobbyists to file a monthly communication report only when the oral and arranged communication is initiated by the lobbyist. Communications relating to the awarding of grants, contributions or other financial benefits must be reported regardless of whether the lobbyist or the POH initiated the communication. For consultant lobbyists, this is also the case for communications relating to the awarding of a contract. I recommended that lobbyists be required to disclose all oral communications with DPOHs about prescribed subject matters, regardless of who initiates them.

Finally, the Lobbyists Registration Regulations prescribe that for the purposes of monthly communication reports, lobbyists should report all "oral and arranged" communications with DPOHs. I recommended that this provision be changed to require lobbyists to report all oral communications about prescribed subject matters, whether or not they were arranged in advance. This change would positively impact transparency since so-called 'chance' meetings between lobbyists and DPOHs, where prescribed subject matters are discussed, would be reportable.


1 – Karen E. Shepherd, "Administering the Lobbying Act — Observations and Recommendations Based on the Experience of the Last Five Years". Return to text

Rapport annuel 2010-2011

Favoriser la transparence des activités de lobbying

La transparence des activités de lobbying est un principe essentiel de la Loi sur le lobbying (la Loi). Les titulaires d'une charge publique et le public doivent savoir qui exerce des activités de lobbying auprès du gouvernement fédéral. À cette fin, la Loi exige que le commissaire au lobbying mette sur pied et gère un Registre des lobbyistes (le Registre), accessible en tout temps sur le site Web du Commissariat au lobbying (le Commissariat).

Le Registre permet de connaître l'identité des personnes rémunérées pour communiquer avec les titulaires d'une charge publique fédéraux et les sujets abordés. C'est la ressource centrale pour obtenir des renseignements sur les particuliers, les organisations sans but lucratif et les entreprises à but lucratif qui font du lobbying auprès des représentants élus et des fonctionnaires du gouvernement fédéral. Plus de 5 000 lobbyistes y sont inscrits. Ce nombre est demeuré relativement stable au cours des dernières années, comme le montre le tableau ci-dessous.

Lobbyistes actifs par catégorie — au 31 mars
  2011 2010 2009
Lobbyistes-conseils 814 753 873
Lobbyistes salariés (entreprises) 1 808 1 791 1 817
Lobbyistes salariés (organisations) 2 507 2 725 2 936
Lobbyistes enregistrés individuellement (toutes catégories confondues) 5 129 5 269 5 626
Enregistrements actifs par catégorie — au 31 mars
  2011 2010 2009
Lobbyistes-conseils (un enregistrement par client) 2 136 2 229 2 253
Entreprises 311 291 303
Organisations 484 434 487
Enregistrements actifs (toutes catégories confondues) 2 931 2 954 3 043

Les renseignements figurant au Registre comprennent notamment :

  • le nom des lobbyistes qui travaillent pour une entreprise, une société, une organisation ou une association;
  • le nom des sociétés mères et des filiales ou des sociétés et entreprises qui bénéficient des activités de lobbying;
  • le nom des organisations qui font partie d'une coalition;
  • une description générale de l'objet des activités de lobbying et d'autres précisions;
  • le nom des ministères et organismes fédéraux avec lesquels les lobbyistes communiquent;
  • le titre et la description des propositions législatives, projets de loi, règlements, politiques, programmes, subventions, contributions et contrats visés;
  • les postes occupés par les anciens titulaires d'une charge publique au sein du gouvernement du Canada avant qu'ils ne deviennent lobbyistes;
  • des renseignements sur les communications orales et organisées avec des titulaires d'une charge publique désignée (TCPD).

Les renseignements figurant au Registre sont publiquement accessibles en ligne et les utilisateurs peuvent y effectuer des recherches gratuitement. En plus de fournir des listes d'enregistrements individuels, le Système d'enregistrement des lobbyistes (le Système) peut produire des rapports normalisés sur le nombre de lobbyistes actifs par catégorie, le nombre d'enregistrements actifs par catégorie, le nombre d'enregistrements actifs et la liste de questions traitées connexes ou le nombre d'enregistrements actifs et la liste des institutions du gouvernement fédéral correspondantes. Le Système peut également générer une liste d'enregistrements récents qui établit une distinction entre les enregistrements nouveaux, mis à jour, réactivés et désactivés au cours des 30 derniers jours.

Conformément à la Loi, les déclarants doivent divulguer mensuellement toute communication orale ou organisée avec des TCPD. La Loi définit les TCPD comme des décideurs de haut niveau du gouvernement fédéral, notamment les ministres, les membres du personnel de leur cabinet, les sous-ministres et les sous-ministres adjoints. La Loi octroie aussi au gouverneur en conseil le pouvoir de désigner, par règlement, des postes de TCPD. En juillet 2008, 11 postes ont été ainsi désignés, y compris sept postes de niveau supérieur au sein des Forces armées canadiennes, deux catégories de postes au sein du Bureau du Conseil privé et le contrôleur général du Canada.

Le règlement a été modifié en septembre 2010 de manière à ce que les députés et les sénateurs soient compris dans la sous-catégorie des TCPD. Ces modifications ont entraîné une augmentation considérable du nombre de déclarations de communication, comme le montre le tableau ci-dessous. Je suis d'avis que les déclarations de communication permettent d'accroître la transparence des activités de lobbying à l'échelon fédéral. Le Système est efficace et permet de gérer aisément le volume croissant de déclarations de communication.

Figure 1 : Nombre des communications déclarées dans les rapports mensuels des communications, par mois
Nombre des communications déclarées dans les rapports mensuels des communications, par moisDescription de la figure 1

Gérer un processus d'enregistrement rapide

Les renseignements présentés dans le premier enregistrement sont certifiés exacts par les lobbyistes et le personnel du Commissariat en vérifie l'intégralité. À des fins de transparence, il est crucial que les renseignements des enregistrements soient accessibles au public le plus tôt possible. À ce chapitre, des efforts considérables ont été déployés cette année pour réduire les délais de traitement et accélérer ainsi la saisie des enregistrements dans le Registre. Les processus ont été simplifiés et rationalisés en vue d'accroître l'efficacité et la rapidité de la saisie et de la publication des enregistrements dans le Registre.

Grâce à ces mesures, en un an, le délai moyen de traitement pour un enregistrement initial est passé de plus de 20 jours à trois jours. Je suis d'avis que ces mesures contribuent grandement à la transparence des activités de lobbying à l'échelon fédéral, puisque ces renseignements sont à la disposition des Canadiens plus rapidement. Les normes de service sur le délai de traitement des enregistrements ont été mises à jour et seront analysées dans le cadre des rapports annuels ultérieurs.

Assurer l'intégrité des données du Registre

Le Registre des lobbyistes est une base de données qui contient des renseignements détaillés sur les activités de lobbying menées à l'échelon fédéral depuis 1996. Cette année, mon personnel a travaillé à l'élaboration de protocoles et de programmes d'assurance de la qualité afin d'assurer l'intégrité des données du Registre.

Par exemple, parmi les enregistrements, un certain nombre de questions et d'institutions du gouvernement dites « orphelines » ont été identifié. Il s'agit de sujets ou d'institutions que les déclarants ont ajoutés à leurs déclarations mensuelles de communication sans modifier leur enregistrement initial en conséquence comme l'exige la Loi. Les déclarations de communication ne donnent qu'une idée très générale des sujets abordés alors que l'enregistrement initial contient diverses précisions sur le sujet, notamment la description et l'intitulé du projet de loi ou le titre de la politique ou du programme visé. Le Registre comporte une nouvelle fonction qui oblige les déclarants à mettre à jour leur enregistrement initial s'ils désirent ajouter une nouvelle question traitée ou une nouvelle institution à leur déclaration mensuelle de communication. Cette fonction permet d'accroître la transparence puisqu'elle incite les lobbyistes à se conformer à la Loi et, plus précisément, les oblige à fournir des détails sur les questions traitées.

Dans le cadre de son programme continu d'assurance de la qualité, mon personnel a également décelé, dans certains cas, un manque de transparence dans la divulgation des intérêts représentés par les lobbyistes. Certains lobbyistes-conseils sont employés en « sous-traitance » par des entreprises de lobbying pour entreprendre des activités de lobbying et représenter un tiers, le véritable client. La Loi actuelle exige que chaque lobbyiste dévoile l'identité de son « client », mais cette exigence pourrait être interprétée de façon à viser seulement l'entreprise qui emploie le lobbyiste, plutôt que le client véritable. Par souci de transparence, j'ai adopté la pratique selon laquelle les lobbyistes-conseils doivent divulguer à la fois l'identité de l'entreprise qui les emploie directement et celle du client qu'ils représentent ultimement. Dans mon mémoire1 adressé en mars 2011 au Comité permanent de l'accès à l'information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l'éthique de la Chambre des communes, j'ai recommandé de modifier la Loi de façon à rendre explicite l'exigence, pour les lobbyistes, de divulguer l'identité de leur employeur et du client qu'ils représentent véritablement.

Toutes les modifications apportées au Système font l'objet d'essais rigoureux. Néanmoins, à la suite de la découverte, en août 2010, d'une erreur de programmation dans un de ses rapports statistiques en ligne, j'ai décidé de mettre en œuvre des mesures pour renforcer le programme d'assurance de la qualité. Dès que l'erreur a été décelée, mon personnel a entrepris des démarches pour améliorer la mise à l'essai du Système et a institué des vérifications poussées de l'intégrité des données. De plus, une vérification interne du Système est prévue en 2011-2012.

Renforcer les normes de service à la clientèle

Je suis fière de la qualité des services fournis par le Commissariat aux déclarants et des efforts constants de mon personnel pour améliorer le service à la clientèle. Les normes de service sont essentielles à l'évaluation du rendement de l'organisation et représentent un outil de gestion interne précieux. Cette année, les normes de service à la clientèle ont été mises à jour et élargies afin d'accroître l'efficacité et l'efficience du processus d'enregistrement. Les normes révisées seront mises en œuvre en 2011-2012.

Selon les normes de service à la clientèle en vigueur, les objectifs du Commissariat sont :

  • d'activer les comptes d'utilisateur dans un délai de 24 heures suivant la réception du formulaire d'engagement du déclarant;
  • d'approuver les enregistrements ou de fournir une rétroaction à ce sujet dans un délai de trois jours ouvrables;
  • de répondre aux appels téléphoniques pendant les heures de bureau dans un délai de 30 secondes dans 80 % des cas;
  • de répondre aux messages téléphoniques dans un délai de 24 heures;
  • d'accuser réception des demandes de renseignements par courriel dans un délai de 24 heures;
  • de répondre aux demandes de renseignements par courriel dans un délai de deux jours ouvrables pour les demandes simples, et dans un délai de 14 jours civils pour les demandes complexes.

Un nouveau système de répartition et de gestion des appels téléphoniques a été implanté en2010-2011 pour répondre plus efficacement aux besoins de la clientèle. Ainsi, les conseillers en enregistrement sont en mesure de répondre directement à un volume d'appels plus important et moins d'appels sont redirigés vers la boîte vocale. Le système compte une fonction pratique qui permet aux utilisateurs de parler directement à leur conseiller attitré. Je suis d'avis que cette mesure contribue à simplifier le processus d'enregistrement.

Utiliser plus largement les renseignements du Registre

Les déclarations mensuelles de communication, instaurées par la Loi sur le lobbying, ont rendu public une foule de nouveaux renseignements sur les communications entre les lobbyistes et les décideurs de haut niveau au sein du gouvernement fédéral. Les déclarations présentent en temps opportun des renseignements sur l'identité des personnes qui se livrent à des activités de lobbying auprès des titulaires de haut niveau d'une charge publique et sur les sujets abordés. Ces renseignements contribuent à améliorer la transparence, puisqu'ils brossent un portrait général des activités de lobbying menées à l'échelon fédéral. La nouvelle catégorie élargie de TCPD utilisée depuis septembre 2010 permet aux Canadiens d'être informés des communications orales et organisées entre les lobbyistes inscrits et les députés ou sénateurs et des questions traitées. Ces déclarations combinées aux renseignements très divers et détaillés figurant dans les enregistrements initiaux permettent aux Canadiens de bien comprendre l'étendue des activités de lobbying menées à l'échelle fédérale. Les médias font souvent référence au Registre et utilisent les renseignements qui y figurent pour décrire les activités de lobbying dans leurs articles.

Traiter le volume croissant de demandes relatives aux données du Registre

La tendance actuelle en faveur d'un gouvernement transparent a entraîné une croissance de la demande auprès du Commissariat pour obtenir des renseignements figurant au Registre sous divers formats. En 2010-2011, mon personnel a répondu à neuf demandes distinctes présentées par des médias et des universitaires pour avoir accès à des ensembles importants de données du Registre. L'accessibilité des données du Registre contribue à accroître la transparence des activités de lobbying, mais le nombre croissant de demandes révèle que le Registre n'est pas structuré de façon à faciliter les analyses à grande échelle. Par conséquent, mon personnel s'efforce d'établir une méthode efficace de classement des données du Registre pour simplifier le travail d'analyse afin, éventuellement, d'en faire profiter tous les Canadiens.

Accroître la transparence

L'obligation pour les lobbyistes de divulguer les communications avec les TCPD permet d'accroître la transparence des activités de lobbying. En2010-2011, les lobbyistes ont déclaré 11 098 communications, soit une moyenne de 925 communications par mois. Toutefois, des améliorations sont encore possibles à ce chapitre. Dans mon mémoire adressé en mars 2011 au Comité permanent de l'accès à l'information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l'éthique de la Chambre des communes, j'ai relevé quatre dispositions de la Loi susceptibles d'être modifiées pour accroître davantage la transparence.

Premièrement, la Loi actuelle exige que les entreprises (à but lucratif) et les organisations (sans but lucratif) s'enregistrent seulement lorsque leurs activités de lobbying constituent une « partie importante des fonctions » (soit l'équivalent de 20 % ou plus des heures de travail mensuelles d'une personne), conformément à la définition du seuil prescrit. Si les lobbyistes estiment qu'ils n'ont pas atteint ce seuil, ils ne sont pas tenus de s'inscrire. Par conséquent, le Registre ne comptera aucun renseignement sur leurs activités de lobbying. De surcroît, ces lobbyistes ne seront pas visés par l'obligation de déclarer mensuellement les communications orales et organisées avec les TCPD. Voilà pourquoi j'ai recommandé au Parlement d'éliminer de la Loi la disposition sur le critère relatif à la « partie importante des fonctions », afin que toutes les organisations et entreprises soient visées par l'exigence d'enregistrement. En outre, j'ai recommandé de prévoir certaines exemptions pour ne pas occasionner un fardeau injustifié.

Deuxièmement, selon la Loi, les déclarations mensuelles de communication doivent contenir le nom du TCPD avec lequel le lobbyiste a communiqué et le nom du cadre dirigeant de l'entreprise ou de l'organisation chargé de l'enregistrement. Cependant, la Loi ne requiert pas de déclarer mensuellement le nom des lobbyistes salariés qui ont participé aux communications orales ou organisées avec le TCPD. Par conséquent, j'ai recommandé que la Loi soit modifiée de façon à ce que les entreprises et organisations soient tenues de déclarer ces renseignements.

Troisièmement, la Loi actuelle oblige les lobbyistes à produire une déclaration mensuelle seulement lorsque la communication orale et organisée est à l'initiative du lobbyiste. Néanmoins, les communications relatives à l'octroi de subventions, de contributions ou de tout autre avantage financier doivent être déclarées, peu importe qui a pris l'initiative de la communication. Cette règle s'applique également aux lobbyistes-conseils en ce qui a trait à l'attribution de contrats. J'ai recommandé que les lobbyistes soient tenus de divulguer toute communication orale avec les TCPD sur des questions prescrites, peu importe qui est à l'origine de la communication.

Quatrièmement, le Règlement sur l'enregistrement des lobbyistes prévoit que les lobbyistes doivent déclarer mensuellement toute communication « orale et organisée » avec un TCPD. J'ai recommandé que cette disposition soit modifiée de manière à ce que les lobbyistes soient tenus de déclarer les communications orales relatives à des questions prescrites, que la communication ait été organisée à l'avance ou non. Cette modification contribuerait à améliorer la transparence, puisque les rencontres soi-disant « fortuites » entre lobbyistes et TCPD seraient également visées par l'obligation de déclaration.


1 – Karen E. Shepherd, « Mise en œuvre de la Loi sur le lobbying : Observations et recommandations fondées sur l'expérience des cinq dernières années ». Retour au texte