Annual Report 2010–2011

Annex C

Lobbying Act

Purpose and Description

The Lobbying Act (the Act) provides for the public registration of individuals who are paid to communicate with public office holders (POHs) with regard to certain matters as described in the legislation. Public office holders are defined in the Act as virtually all persons occupying an elected or appointed position in the Government of Canada, including members of the House of Commons and the Senate and their staff, as well as officers and employees of federal departments and agencies, members of the Canadian Forces and members of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

The preamble to the Act sets out four basic principles pertaining to the registration of lobbyists:

  • Free and open access to government is an important matter of public interest.
  • Lobbying public office holders is a legitimate activity.
  • It is desirable that public office holders and the public be able to know who is engaged in lobbying activities.
  • A system for the registration of paid lobbyists should not impede free and open access to government.

Individuals must be registered if they lobby, i.e., if they communicate with federal POHs, for payment, whether formally or informally, with regard to:

  • the making, developing or amending of federal legislative proposals, bills or resolutions, regulations, policies or programs;
  • the awarding of federal grants, contributions or other financial benefits; and
  • in the case of consultant lobbyists, the awarding of a federal government contract and arranging a meeting between their client and a POH.

The Lobbying Act provides for the following three categories of lobbyists:

Consultant Lobbyists

Consultant lobbyists are individuals who are paid to lobby on behalf of a client. Consultant lobbyists may be government relations consultants, lawyers, accountants or other professional advisors who provide lobbying services for their clients. They must file a registration for each individual undertaking (i.e., for each mandate from a client).

In-house Lobbyists (Corporations)

In-house lobbyists (corporations) are employees of corporations that conduct commercial activities for financial gain and who lobby as a significant part of their duties. These individuals are usually full-time employees who devote a significant part of their duties to public affairs or government relations work. As the registrant, the most senior paid officer must register the corporation if the total lobbying activity of all employees represents a significant part of the duties of one equivalent full-time employee. The registration must include the names of all senior officers who engage in any lobbying activity, as well as the name of any employee (senior officer or otherwise) who individually devotes a significant part of his or her duties to lobbying activities.

In-house Lobbyists (Organizations)

In-house lobbyists (organizations) are employees of non-profit organizations, such as associations, charities and foundations, including non-profit corporations. As the registrant, the most senior paid officer of such an organization must register the names of all employees engaged in lobbying activities, if the total lobbying activity of all such employees represents a significant part of the duties of one equivalent full-time employee.

Disclosure Requirements

All three categories of lobbyists are required to disclose certain information within time limits specified in the Act. This information includes:

  • names of their clients, or corporate or organizational employers;
  • names of the parent or subsidiary companies that would benefit from the lobbying activity;
  • organizational members of coalition groups;
  • specific subject matters of lobbying;
  • names of the federal departments or agencies contacted;
  • sources and amounts of any public funding received; and
  • communication techniques used, such as meetings, telephone calls or grass-roots lobbying.

Although their reporting requirements differ slightly, corporations and organizations must also provide general descriptions of their business or activities.

Regulations

The Lobbying Act authorizes the Governor in Council to make regulations respecting the submission of returns and other registration requirements of the Act, and in relation to various aspects of the lobbyists' registration regime.

The Lobbyists Registration Regulations set the form and manner in which lobbyists must file returns required by the Act. Returns disclose information regarding the lobbying activities of registrants. The Regulations also set out additional information to be disclosed in returns, beyond what is required by the Act. They set the timeframes to respond to a request by the Commissioner for correction or clarification of information submitted in returns. The Regulations also describe the type of communication that will trigger monthly returns. The form and manner of registration set out in the Lobbyists Registration Regulations are reflected in the Lobbyists Registration System interface that is provided to users of the system.

The Act defines designated public office holders to include ministers, ministers of state and ministerial staff, deputy heads, associate deputy heads and assistant deputy ministers and those of comparable ranks throughout the public service. The Designated Public Office Holder Regulations further designate various positions in the Canadian Forces and the Privy Council Office, as well as the Comptroller General of Canada, with the result that the persons occupying those positions are included as "designated public office holders" under the Lobbying Act. The Regulations came into force on July 2, 2008 and further designated the following 11 positions or classes of positions:

  • Chief of the Defence Staff;
  • Vice Chief of the Defence Staff;
  • Chief of Maritime Staff;
  • Chief of Land Staff;
  • Chief of Air Staff;
  • Chief of Military Personnel;
  • Judge Advocate General;
  • any position of Senior Advisor in the Privy Council to which the office holder is appointed by the Governor in Council;
  • Deputy Minister (Intergovernmental Affairs) Privy Council Office;
  • Comptroller General of Canada; and any position to which the Office holder is appointed pursuant to paragraphs 127.1(1) (a) or (b) of the Public Service Employment Act.

On September 20, 2010, the Regulations were amended to add three more classes of positions to the category of designated public office holder:

  • the position of Member of the House of Commons;
  • the position of Member of the Senate; and
  • any position on the staff of the Leader of the Opposition in the House of Commons or on the staff of the Leader of the Opposition in the Senate, that is occupied by a person appointed pursuant to subsection 128(1) of the Public Service Employment Act.

Rapport annuel 2010-2011

Annexe C

Loi sur le lobbying

Objet et description

La Loi sur le lobbying exige l'enregistrement des particuliers rémunérés pour communiquer avec des titulaires d'une charge publique (TCP) sur certains sujets par ailleurs décrits dans la Loi. Le terme « titulaire d'une charge publique », tel qu'il est défini dans la Loi, s'applique à pratiquement toutes les personnes ayant été nommées ou élues à un poste au sein du gouvernement du Canada, y compris les sénateurs, les députés et les membres de leur personnel, les cadres et les employés des ministères et organismes fédéraux, les membres des Forces armées canadiennes et les membres de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada.

Le préambule de la Loi énonce les quatre principes fondamentaux suivants en ce qui a trait à l'enregistrement des lobbyistes :

  • la liberté d'accès aux institutions de l'État est une question d'intérêt public;
  • le lobbyisme auprès des titulaires d'une charge publique est une activité légitime;
  • il est souhaitable que les titulaires d'une charge publique de même que les citoyen puissent savoir qui se livre à des activités de lobbyisme;
  • le système d'enregistrement des lobbyistes rémunérés ne doit pas faire obstacle à la liberté d'accès au gouvernement.

Toute personne doit être enregistrée si elle se livre à des activités de lobbying, c'est-à-dire si elle communique, contre rémunération, officiellement ou de façon informelle, avec les titulaires d'une charge publique relativement à l'un des objets suivants :

  • l'élaboration, la préparation ou la modification de propositions législatives, de projets de loi ou de résolutions, de règlements, de politiques ou de programmes fédéraux;
  • l'octroi de subventions, de contributions ou d'autres avantages financiers par le gouvernement fédéral;
  • dans le cas des lobbyistes-conseils, l'obtention d'un contrat fédéral ou une rencontre entre leur client et un TCP.

La Loi sur le lobbying établit les trois catégories de lobbyistes suivantes :

Lobbyistes-conseils

Le lobbyiste-conseil est une personne qui, contre rémunération, fait du lobbying pour un client. Les lobbyistes-conseils sont généralement des conseillers en relations gouvernementales, des avocats, des comptables ou d'autres experts-conseils qui offrent des services de lobbying à leurs clients. Ils doivent soumettre une déclaration pour chacun des engagements qu'ils acceptent (c.-à-d. pour chaque mandat confié par un client).

Lobbyistes salariés (Personnes morales)

Les lobbyistes salariés sont employés par une société (personne morale) qui exerce des activités commerciales dans le but d'en tirer un avantage financier, et leurs fonctions consistent en grande partie à faire du lobbying. Ces personnes sont habituellement des employés à temps plein qui consacrent une part importante de leurs fonctions à s'occuper d'affaires publiques ou de relations gouvernementales. À titre de déclarant, le premier dirigeant rémunéré doit enregistrer l'entreprise si l'activité totale de lobbying de tous les employés représente une partie importante des fonctions d'un employé à temps plein. L'enregistrement doit contenir le nom de tous les cadres dirigeants qui exercent des activités de lobbying, ainsi que le nom de tout employé (premier dirigeant ou autre) qui consacre une partie importante de ses fonctions à des activités de lobbying.

Lobbyistes salariés (organisations)

Les lobbyistes salariés (organisations) sont les employés d'organismes sans but lucratif, comme les associations, les organisations caritatives ou les fondations, y compris les sociétés sans but lucratif. À titre de déclarant, le premier dirigeant rémunéré de l'organisation en question doit déclarer le nom de toutes les employés qui se livrent à des activités de lobbying lorsque l'activité totale de lobbying de tous ces employés représente l'équivalent de une partie importante des fonctions de l'équivalent d'un employé à temps plein.

Exigences de divulgation

Tous les lobbyistes sont tenus de divulguer certains renseignements dans les délais prescrits par la Loi. Ils doivent indiquer notamment :

  • le nom de leur client ou de leur employeur (qu'il s'agisse d'une société ou d'une organisation);
  • le nom de la société-mère ou des filiales qui pourraient bénéficier des activités de lobbying;
  • dans le cas d'une coalition, le nom des organisations et entreprises qui la composent;
  • l'objet du lobbying;
  • le nom des ministères ou organismes fédéraux avec lesquels ils communiquent;
  • la source et le montant de toute aide publique reçue d'un gouvernement;
  • les moyens de communication utilisés, par exemple les rencontres, les appels téléphoniques ou le lobbying populaire.

Malgré de légères différences dans les exigences en matière de déclaration, les entreprises et les organisations doivent également présenter une description générale de leurs activités, commerciales ou autres.

Règlements

La Loi sur le lobbying autorise le gouverneur en conseil à adopter des règlements sur la soumission des déclarations et d'autres exigences de la Loi relatives à l'enregistrement, et aux divers aspects du régime d'enregistrement des lobbyistes.

Le Règlement sur l'enregistrement des lobbyistes décrit la procédure à suivre par les lobbyistes pour la production des déclarations requises en vertu de la Loi. Ces déclarations comprennent des renseignements sur leurs activités de lobbying. De plus, le Règlement indique les renseignements additionnels à fournir dans les déclarations, en plus de ceux exigés expressément par la Loi. Le Règlement indique également le délai de réponse à une demande de correction ou de clarification des renseignements fournis dans les déclarations. Le Règlement précise enfin le type de communication exigeant des déclarations mensuelles. L'interface fournie aux utilisateurs du Système d'enregistrement des lobbyistes tient compte des exigences en matière d'enregistrement prescrites par le Règlement sur l'enregistrement des lobbyistes.

La Loi définit les « titulaires d'une charge publique désignée » de manière à inclure les ministres, les ministres d'État et le personnel des ministres, les administrateurs généraux, les administrateurs généraux délégués et les sous-ministres adjoints ainsi que les personnes occupant des postes de rang comparable au sein de la fonction publique. Le Règlement désignant certains postes comme postes de titulaire d'une charge publique désignée cite divers postes au sein des Forces canadiennes et du Bureau du Conseil privé, de même que le contrôleur général du Canada, de sorte que les personnes qui les occupent font partie des « titulaires d'une charge publique désignée » en vertu de la Loi sur le lobbying. Le Règlement, qui est entré en vigueur le 2 juillet 2008, a désigné les 11 postes ou catégories de postes suivants :

  • chef d'état-major de la Défense;
  • vice-chef d'état-major de la Défense;
  • chef d'état-major de la Force maritime;
  • chef d'état-major de l'Armée de terre;
  • chef d'état-major de la Force aérienne;
  • chef du personnel militaire;
  • juge-avocat général;
  • tout poste de conseiller supérieur auprès du Conseil privé dont le titulaire a été nommé par le gouverneur en conseil;
  • sous-ministre (Affaires intergouvernementales) au Bureau du Conseil privé;
  • contrôleur général du Canada;
  • tout poste dont le titulaire a été nommé en vertu des alinéas 127.1(1) a) ou b) de la Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique.

Le 20 septembre 2010, le Règlement a été modifié de façon à inclure trois autres types de poste à la catégorie des titulaires d'une charge publique :

  • tout poste de député;
  • tout poste de sénateur;
  • tout poste au sein du bureau du chef de l'Opposition à la Chambre des communes ou à celui du leader de l'Opposition au Sénat occupé par un membre du personnel nommé en vertu du paragraphe 128(1) de la Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique.