Report on Investigation — The Lobbying Activities of Will Stewart (Page 2 of 7)

The Lobbyists' Code of Conduct

Lobbying is a legitimate activity. When carried out ethically and transparently, and in conformity with the highest standards of conduct, it can enhance the dialogue between Canadians, businesses and organizations and government.

The Lobbyists' Code of Conduct (the Code) came into effect on March 1, 1997, as a complement to the former Lobbyists Registration Act (the LRA). It was instituted to assure Canadians that the lobbying of federal public office holders is carried out in a manner that ensures public confidence and trust in the integrity, objectivity and impartiality of government decision-making. Individuals who engaged in activity deemed registrable under the Lobbying Act (the Act), must also comply with the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct.

During the period covered by this report, individuals paid to communicate, or arrange meetings, with public office holders were required to register in the Registry of Lobbyists. Public office holders are defined as being virtually anyone occupying a position in the Government of Canada; including members of the Senate and the House of Commons and their staff, as well as employees of federal departments and agencies, members of the Canadian Forces and members of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

The Lobbyists' Code of Conduct establishes mandatory standards of conduct for individuals who engage in activity deemed registrable under the Act. Like most professional codes, the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct begins with a preamble that states its purpose and places it in a broader context. Next, a body of overriding principles sets out, in positive terms, the goals and objectives to be achieved, without establishing precise standards. The principles of Integrity, Honesty, Openness and Professionalism are set out as goals that should be pursued, and are intended as general guidance.

The principles are followed by a series of eight rules that place specific obligations and requirements on lobbyists. The rules are organized into three categories: Transparency, Confidentiality, and Conflict of Interest. Under the rules of Transparency, lobbyists have an obligation to provide accurate information to public office holders, and to disclose the identity of the persons or organizations on whose behalf their representation is made, as well as the purpose of the representation. They must also disclose to their clients, employers or organizations their obligations under the Lobbying Act and the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct. Under the rules of Confidentiality, lobbyists may not divulge confidential information, nor use insider information to the disadvantage of their clients, employers or organizations. The Conflict of Interest rules prohibit lobbyists from representing conflicting or competing interests without the consent of those whose interests are involved, or placing public office holders in a conflict of interest by proposing or undertaking any action that would constitute an improper influence.

Investigations of Alleged Breaches of the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct

Lobbyists have a legal obligation to comply with the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct. Under the Lobbying Act, the Commissioner is required to conduct an investigation if the Commissioner has reason to believe that an investigation is necessary to ensure compliance with the Act or the Code, as applicable.

Breaches of the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct do not carry fines or jail sentences, but the Commissioner's report of the investigation — including the findings, conclusions, and reasons for those conclusions — must be tabled before both Houses of Parliament. There is no limitation period for investigating breaches of the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct.

Rule 8 of the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct reads as follows:

Rule 8 — Improper Influence (Conflict of Interest)

Lobbyists shall not place public office holders in a conflict of interest by proposing or undertaking any action that would constitute an improper influence on a public office holder.

Rule 8 of the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct (the Code) has not changed since the Code first came into effect in 1997. However, the decision of the Federal Court of Appeal in Democracy Watch v. Campbell et al.. had the effect of changing the manner in which Rule 8 of the Code must be interpreted. This decision has led me to provide guidance to lobbyists regarding the interpretation of Rule 8, which I consider to be consistent with the ruling of the Federal Court of Appeal. I provided lobbyists with my Guidance on Conflict of Interest — Rule 8 (Lobbyists' Code of Conduct) in November 2009.2 This led to discussion and dialogue with lobbyists regarding the interpretation and application of Rule 8, and I provided a further clarification regarding Political Activities in August 2010.3 This Guidance and the Clarifications were provided to lobbyists following the events that this Report addresses. I have considered the fact that Mr. Stewart did not have the benefit of my Guidance to help assist him in evaluating his lobbying activities in consideration of his political activities.

The following Report on Investigation concerns a particular political fundraising event that occurred about six months after the decision of the Federal Court of Appeal in Democracy Watch v. Campbell et al.


2 – Commissioner's Guidance on Conflict of Interest — Rule 8 (Lobbyists' Code of Conduct), November 2009 Return to reference 2

3 – Clarifications about political activities in the context of Rule 8, August 2010 Return to reference 3

Rapport d'enquête — Les activités de lobbying de Will Stewart (page 2 de 7)

Le Code de déontologie des lobbyistes

Les activités de lobbying sont légitimes. Lorsqu'elles sont menées de manière éthique et transparente, conformément aux normes de conduite les plus rigoureuses, elles peuvent améliorer le dialogue entre les Canadiens, les entreprises, les organisations et le gouvernement.

Le Code de déontologie des lobbyistes (le Code) est entré en vigueur le 1er mars 1997 pour compléter l'ancienne Loi sur l'enregistrement des lobbyistes (LEL). Le Code a été développé afin de donner aux Canadiens l'assurance que les activités de lobbying auprès des titulaires d'une charge publique sont menées de façon à préserver leur confiance dans l'intégrité, l'objectivité et l'impartialité du processus décisionnel du gouvernement. Les personnes se livrant à des activités de lobbying enregistrables en vertu de la Loi sur le lobbying doivent également se conformer au Code de déontologie des lobbyistes.

Durant la période visée par le présent rapport, les personnes rémunérées pour communiquer ou ménager des entrevues (organiser des rencontres) avec des titulaires d'une charge publique étaient tenues de s'enregistrer dans le Registre des lobbyistes. Le terme « titulaire d'une charge publique » s'applique à pratiquement toutes les personnes occupant un poste au gouvernement du Canada, y compris les sénateurs, les députés et leur personnel, les employés des ministères et organismes fédéraux, et les membres des Forces canadiennes et de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada.

Le Code de déontologie des lobbyistes établit des normes de conduite obligatoires pour les personnes qui se livrent à des activités jugées enregistrables aux termes de la Loi. Comme la plupart des codes de déontologie régissant une profession, le Code de déontologie des lobbyistes commence par un préambule qui en établit les objectifs dans un contexte plus général. Ensuite, un ensemble de principes présente, de façon positive, les buts et objectifs à atteindre, sans toutefois définir de normes précises. Ces principes d'intégrité, d'honnêteté, d'ouverture et de professionnalisme sont des buts à atteindre et constituent des orientations générales.

Ces principes sont suivis d'une série de huit règles établissant des obligations et des exigences précises pour les lobbyistes. Ces règles se divisent en trois catégories : transparence, confidentialité et conflits d'intérêts. Aux termes des règles sur la transparence, les lobbyistes sont tenus de fournir des renseignements exacts aux titulaires d'une charge publique, et de révéler l'identité des personnes ou des organisations qu'ils représentent ainsi que l'objet de leur représentation. Ils doivent également communiquer à leurs clients, employeurs ou organisations les obligations auxquelles ils sont assujettis en vertu de la Loi sur le lobbying et du Code de déontologie des lobbyistes. Selon les règles sur la confidentialité, les lobbyistes ne peuvent divulguer de renseignements confidentiels ni se servir de renseignements d'initiés au désavantage de leurs clients, de leurs employeurs ou de leurs organisations. Enfin, aux termes des règles sur les conflits d'intérêts, il est interdit aux lobbyistes de représenter des intérêts conflictuels ou concurrentiels sans le consentement des parties intéressées, ou de placer des titulaires d'une charge publique en situation de conflit d'intérêts en proposant ou en prenant toute action qui constituerait une influence répréhensible sur ces titulaires.

Enquêtes sur les allégations d'infractions au Code de déontologie des lobbyistes

Les lobbyistes sont tenus par la loi de se conformer au Code de déontologie des lobbyistes. En vertu de la Loi sur le lobbying, la commissaire doit faire enquête lorsqu'elle a des raisons de croire qu'une enquête est nécessaire au contrôle d'application du Code ou de la Loi, selon le cas.

Les infractions au Code de déontologie des lobbyistes n'entraînent pas d'amendes ou de peines d'emprisonnement, mais le rapport d'enquête de la commissaire, qui comprend ses constatations, ses conclusions et les motifs de ses conclusions, doit être déposé devant les deux chambres du Parlement. Il n'existe pas de délai de prescription pour les enquêtes touchant des infractions au Code.

La Règle 8 du Code de déontologie des lobbyistes se lit comme suit :

Règle 8 — Influence répréhensible (conflits d'intérêts)

Les lobbyistes doivent éviter de placer les titulaires d'une charge publique en situation de conflit d'intérêts en proposant ou en prenant toute action qui constituerait une influence répréhensible sur ces titulaires.

La Règle 8 du Code de déontologie des lobbyistes n'a pas changé depuis l'entrée en vigueur du Code en 1997. Cependant, la décision de la Cour d'appel fédérale dans le cas Démocratie en surveillance c. Barry Campbell et le Procureur général du Canada a eu l'effet de modifier la façon dont la Règle 8 doit être interprétée. Cette décision m'a amenée à fournir aux lobbyistes, en novembre 2009, une directive sur l'interprétation de la Règle 8, qui, à mon avis, est cohérente avec le jugement de la Cour d'appel fédérale.2 Cela a donné lieu à une discussion et à un dialogue avec les lobbyistes au sujet de l'interprétation de la Règle 8, et j'ai apporté d'autres précisions en ce qui concerne les activités politiques en août 2010.3 Cette directive et ces clarifications ont été fournies aux lobbyistes à la suite des événements dont traite ce rapport. J'ai considéré le fait que M. Stewart ne disposait pas de ma directive pour l'aider à évaluer ses activités de lobbying à la lumière de ses activités politiques.

Le présent rapport d'enquête porte sur une activité de financement particulière qui a eu lieu environ six mois après la décision de la Cour d'appel fédérale dans le cas Démocratie en surveillance c. Barry Campbell et le Procureur général du Canada.


2 – Directive du commissaire sur les conflits d'intérêts — Règle 8 (Code de déontologie des lobbyistes), novembre 2009 Retour au texte

3 – Clarifications concernant les activités politiques dans le contexte de la Règle 8, août 2010 Retour au texte