News Release

Commissioner of Lobbying finds two lobbyists in breach of the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct

For immediate release

Ottawa, December 12, 2011 — The Commissioner of Lobbying, Karen E. Shepherd, tabled her Report on Investigation today in both Houses of Parliament on the activities of Patrick Glémaud and Rahim Jaffer.

The Commissioner concluded that Mr. Glémaud and Mr. Jaffer were in breach of the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct. Her Report on Investigation is centered primarily on their attempts to obtain federal government funding in 2009 on behalf of their company, GPG-Green Power Generation Corp.

"Green Power Generation was a commercial enterprise established with the intention of generating revenue. Although Mr. Glémaud and Mr. Jaffer were not successful in securing more than $178 million in government funding that they were seeking, their activities required registration," the Commissioner stated. "This report shows that registration is required even if the desired outcome is not achieved."

The Commissioner examined 10 different allegations concerning Mr. Glémaud and Mr. Jaffer as in-house lobbyists on behalf of Green Power Generation and as consultant lobbyists. She concluded they had breached the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct in five of the allegations.

The purpose of the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct is to assure the Canadian public that lobbying is done ethically and with the highest standards, with a view to increasing public confidence and trust in the integrity, objectivity and impartiality of government decision-making.

Breaches of the Code carry no fines or jail terms. After conducting an investigation under the Code, the Commissioner is required to table a Report to Parliament to present her findings and conclusions, and the reasons for those conclusions.

Please consult the report for further details.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Telephone: 613-952-4306
Email: media@ocl-cal.gc.ca

Communiqué

La commissaire au lobbying conclut que deux lobbyistes ont enfreint le Code de déontologie des lobbyistes

Pour diffusion immédiate

Ottawa, le 12 décembre 2011 — La commissaire au lobbying, Karen E. Shepherd, a déposé aujourd'hui devant les deux chambres du Parlement son Rapport d'enquête au sujet des activités de Patrick Glémaud et de Rahim Jaffer.

La commissaire a conclu que M. Glémaud et M. Jaffer avaient enfreint le Code de déontologie des lobbyistes. Son rapport d'enquête porte principalement sur les activités auxquelles ceux-ci se sont livrés au nom leur société, GPG-Green Power Generation Corp., afin de tenter d'obtenir du financement du gouvernement fédéral en 2009.

« Green Power Generation était une entreprise commerciale établie en vue de générer des revenus. Même si M. Glémaud et M. Jaffer n'ont pas réussi à obtenir plus de 178 millions de dollars en financement gouvernemental qu'ils solicitaient, leurs activités nécessitaient un enregistrement », a déclaré la commissaire. « Ce rapport montre que l'enregistrement est requis même si le résultat visé n'est pas atteint. »

La commissaire a examiné dix différentes allégations concernant les activités de M. Glémaud et de M. Jaffer à titre de lobbyistes salariés pour le compte de Green Power Generation et à titre de lobbyistes-conseils. Elle a conclu qu'ils avaient enfreint le Code de déontologie des lobbyistes relativement à cinq des allégations.

Le Code de déontologie des lobbyistes a pour objet de rassurer le public canadien au sujet des normes d'éthique élevées que doivent respecter les lobbyistes de façon à préserver et accroître la confiance du public dans l'intégrité, l'objectivité et l'impartialité de la prise de décisions du gouvernement.

Les infractions au Code ne sont pas passibles d'amendes ou de peines d'emprisonnement. À la suite d'une enquête en vertu du Code, la commissaire doit déposer un rapport au Parlement pour présenter ses constatations, ses conclusions, et les motifs de ses conclusions.

Veuillez consulter le rapport pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Téléphone : 613-952-4306
Courriel : media@ocl-cal.gc.ca