Guiding principles and criteria for recommending compliance measures

Part I

Guiding Principles

Mandate

The Commissioner of Lobbying has a mandate to ensure compliance with the Lobbying Act (the Act) and the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct (the Code). Compliance with the lobbyists registration regime assures the public that lobbying is done with the highest standards and contributes to public confidence and trust in the integrity, objectivity and impartiality of government decision-making. It is the role of the Office of the Commissioner of Lobbying (OCL) to support this mandate by conducting administrative reviews of suspected, alleged, or known contraventions of the Act and Code, recommending appropriate enforcement measures and, where the Commissioner deems necessary, conducting formal investigations under subsection 10.4 of the Act.

Responsible Enforcement

The OCL ensures that lobbyists conform to the Act and Code through a range of compliance and enforcement measures: monitoring and education, compliance verification, administrative review, investigation, and referral to a peace officer. It is the policy of the OCL to apply these measures in a reasonable and responsible fashion, and in a manner that reflects the gravity of the alleged transgression.

Degree of Fault and Sufficiency of Evidence

The OCL takes into account the following two elements in the analysis of an alleged transgression of the Act or Code: the nature of the act or omission, and the evidence of negligence or wilful misconduct of the individual. During the course of an administrative review, the Investigations Directorate will conduct an analysis of both elements and recommend appropriate compliance measures that reflect an assessment of the knowledge, fault and intent of the subject. Formal investigations will be recommended where a sufficiency of evidence exists that non-compliance was the outcome of negligence or intent.

Investigations

"The Commissioner shall conduct an investigation if he or she has reason to believe, including on the basis of information received from a member of the Senate or the House of Commons, that an investigation is necessary to ensure compliance with the Code or this Act, as applicable."

Lobbying Act, subsection 10.4(1)

The Commissioner may also refuse to conduct, or cease an investigation if the matter could more appropriately be dealt with by another means or for the following reasons, set out in subsection 10.4(1.1) of the Act:

  • the matter is one that could be more appropriately dealt with according to a procedure provided for under another Act of Parliament;
  • the matter is not sufficiently important;
  • dealing with the matter would serve no useful purpose because of the length of time that has elapsed since the matter arose; or
  • there is any other valid reason for not dealing with the matter.

Factors to Consider

To ensure that compliance measures are applied in a manner that is fair and consistent, the OCL will consider the following factors when determining how to address suspected, alleged or known transgressions of the Act or Code.

  • The nature and gravity of the alleged transgression.
  • The degree of injury (transparency, public confidence and trust).
  • The length of time that has elapsed since the act or omission was committed.
  • Whether the matter is more appropriately dealt with under another Act of Parliament.
  • The person's degree of knowledge of the Act and Code.
  • The degree of negligence or intent.
  • Whether the act or omission was voluntarily disclosed by the subject.
  • The subject's compliance history.
  • The impact of a Report to Parliament on:
    • general deterrence (lobbyists);
    • specific deterrence (the person); or
    • the Commissioner's mandate to ensure transparency, and enhance public confidence and trust in the integrity, objectivity and impartiality of government decision-making.
  • The availability and quality of evidence.
  • Whether the matter is sufficiently important.
  • Any other relevant factor or circumstance.

Part II

Compliance Measures

When a suspected, alleged or known transgression is brought to the attention of the OCL, one or more of the factors outlined in Part I will be considered when determining an appropriate means of ensuring compliance from among the following four options:

I — Level One Administrative Review;
II — Level Two Administrative Review;
III — Lobbying Act Investigation & Report to Parliament; or,
IV — Referral to a Peace Officer.

I — Level One Administrative Review

After conducting an assessment of the above-mentioned factors, the OCL may determine that the gravity of the alleged transgression is low.

The Investigations Directorate will commence an administrative review and conduct a brief assessment of the circumstances surrounding the transgression, documenting it in an administrative review file. At the conclusion, a memo is sent to the Commissioner containing a brief summary and analysis; and, if the allegation is deemed to be well-founded, a recommendation that a written warning be sent to the registrant from either the Director of Investigations or the Commissioner.

The written warning will advise the registrant that, after considering various factors, such as compliance history, and efforts to improve compliance, no further action will be taken. It will also contain a caution that, by failing to conform to certain requirements under the Act, they risk being the subject of a more formal review, the outcome of which could be a formal investigation under the Act, a Report to Parliament, or a referral to a peace officer. The correspondence is kept in the administrative review file. Monitoring of the registrants is conducted by the OCL to ensure continued compliance.

II — Level Two Administrative Review

After conducting an assessment of the above-mentioned factors, the OCL may determine that the gravity of the alleged transgression is medium to high.

The Investigations Directorate will plan and conduct an administrative review involving interviews with the person, their employer/client, public office holders and any other potential sources of information. A comprehensive Administrative Review Report is presented to the Commissioner containing a description of the background and context, analysis, and a recommended measure to ensure compliance. The analysis will include an assessment of the actus reus (whether or not a breach has been committed) and, based upon the above-mentioned factors, a recommendation of a suitable means of ensuring compliance.

III — Lobbying Act Investigation & Report to Parliament

An investigation under subsection 10.4(1) of the Act is initiated by the Commissioner if the Commissioner has reason to believe, including on the basis of information received in an Administrative Review Report, or from a member of the Senate or the House of Commons, that an investigation is necessary to ensure compliance with the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct, or the Lobbying Act, as applicable.

In most cases, the Investigations Directorate has assessed the above-mentioned factors in a report, and the Commissioner has concluded that the gravity of the transgression is such that the matter should be brought forward in a Report on Investigation to be tabled in both Houses of Parliament in accordance with subsection 10.5 of the Act. The Investigations Directorate will provide the Commissioner with an Investigation Report. The report will then be provided to the person to give them an opportunity to present their views to the Commissioner, as required under subsection 10.4(5) of the Act.

Once the person has provided their views, the Commissioner will prepare a Report on Investigation containing the Commissioner's findings and conclusions, and the reasons for the conclusions. The Report on Investigation will be submitted to the Speaker of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Commons for tabling in Parliament.

IV — Referral to a Peace Officer

If, during an investigation under subsection 10.4(1) of the Act, the Commissioner believes on reasonable grounds that a person has committed an offence under this or any other Act of Parliament or of the legislature of a province, the Commissioner is required, under subsection 10.4(7) of the Act, to advise a peace officer having jurisdiction to investigate the alleged offence.

A letter from the Commissioner is sent to the peace officer having jurisdiction, with copies of either the Administrative Review Report or the Investigation Report, and any relevant evidence. The investigation is immediately suspended until the matter has been dealt with by the appropriate authorities, as required under subsection 10.4(8) and 10.4(9) of the Act.

When a file is returned from the peace officer having jurisdiction, depending on its conclusion, the subject-matter is once again assessed by the OCL from the perspective of the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct. After considering the views of the peace officer, a decision is made by the Commissioner whether there are sufficient grounds to continue with a Code of Conduct investigation.

December 31st, 2010

Principes directeurs et critères pour recommander des mesures de conformité

Partie I

Principes directeurs

Mandat

Le commissaire au lobbying a le mandat de veiller au respect de la Loi sur le lobbying (la Loi) et du Code de déontologie des lobbyistes (le Code). L'application du régime d'enregistrement des lobbyistes donne au public l'assurance que le lobbying est fait dans le respect des normes les plus élevées et elle contribue à accroître la confiance du public en l'intégrité, l'objectivité et l'impartialité du processus décisionnel de l'État. Il incombe au Commissariat au lobbying (CAL) d'appuyer ce mandat en procédant à des examens administratifs au sujet d'infractions présumées, prétendues ou connues à la Loi ou au Code, en recommandant des mesures d'application et, lorsque le commissaire le juge nécessaire, en menant une enquête en bonne et due forme en vertu de l'article 10.4 de la Loi.

Application responsable

Le CAL veille à ce que les lobbyistes se conforment à la Loi et au Code au moyen d'un continuum de mesures d'application : surveillance et éducation, vérification de la conformité, examen administratif, enquête et renvoi du dossier à un agent de la paix. Le CAL a pour politique d'imposer ces mesures de manière raisonnable et responsable, de façon à refléter la gravité de l'infraction présumée.

Degré de culpabilité et suffisance de la preuve

Le CAL prend en considération les deux éléments suivants lorsqu'il analyse une infraction présumée à la Loi ou au Code : la nature de l'infraction ou de l'omission, et la preuve d'une faute intentionnelle ou d'une négligence. Pendant un examen administratif, la Direction des enquêtes analysera ces deux éléments et recommandera des mesures d'application appropriées qui tiennent compte d'une évaluation de la connaissance, de la faute et de l'intention du sujet. On recommandera la tenue d'une enquête en bonne et due forme s'il existe des preuves suffisantes que la non-conformité est intentionnelle ou attribuable à la négligence.

Enquêtes

Le commissaire fait enquête lorsqu'il a des raisons de croire, notamment sur le fondement de renseignements qui lui ont été transmis par un parlementaire, qu'une enquête est nécessaire au contrôle d'application du code ou de la présente loi.

Loi sur le lobbying, paragraphe 10.4(1)

Le commissaire peut également refuser d'enquêter ou de poursuivre une enquête s'il estime qu'il serait plus approprié de traiter l'affaire autrement ou pour les raisons suivantes, stipulées au paragraphe 10.4(1.1) de la Loi :

  • l'affaire visée pourrait avantageusement être traitée en conformité avec la procédure prévue par une autre loi fédérale;
  • les conséquences de cette affaire ne sont pas suffisamment importantes;
  • cela serait inutile en raison de la période écoulée depuis le moment où l'affaire a pris naissance;
  • cela est opportun pour tout autre motif justifié.

Facteurs à prendre en considération

Afin de veiller à ce que les mesures d'application soient équitables et cohérentes, le CAL prendra en considération les facteurs suivants pour déterminer quelles mesures prendre à l'égard des infractions présumées, prétendues ou connues à la Loi ou au Code :
  • la nature et la gravité de l'infraction présumée;
  • le degré du préjudice (transparence, confiance du public);
  • le temps s'étant écoulé depuis l'infraction ou l'omission;
  • si l'affaire peut avantageusement être traitée en conformité avec une autre loi fédérale;
  • le degré de connaissance de la Loi et du Code du sujet;
  • le degré de négligence ou d'intention;
  • si l'infraction a été divulguée volontairement par le sujet;
  • les antécédents du sujet en matière de conformité;
  • l'incidence d'un rapport au Parlement sur :
    • la dissuasion générale (lobbyistes);
    • la dissuasion individuelle (le sujet);
    • le mandat du commissaire de s'assurer de la transparence et d'accroître la confiance du public en l'intégrité, l'objectivité et l'impartialité du processus décisionnel de l'État;
  • la disponibilité et la qualité de la preuve;
  • si les conséquences de cette affaire sont suffisamment importantes;
  • tout autre facteur pertinent.

Partie II

Mesures de conformité

Lorsqu'une infraction présumée, prétendue ou connue est portée à l'attention du CAL, un ou plusieurs des facteurs décrits à la Partie I sont étudiés afin de décider de la mesure appropriée à adopter afin d'assurer la conformité. Ces mesures sont :

I — Examen administratif — Niveau un
II — Examen administratif — Niveau deux
III — Enquête en vertu de la Loi sur le lobbying
IV — Renvoi à un agent de la paix

I — Examen administratif — Niveau un

Après avoir évalué les facteurs susmentionnés, le CAL peut déterminer que la gravité de l'infraction présumée est faible.

La Direction des enquêtes entreprend un examen administratif et évalue rapidement les circonstances entourant l'infraction et la documente dans un dossier d'examen administratif. Une fois ce travail terminé, une note est envoyée au commissaire comprenant un résumé et une analyse de l'infraction, ainsi que la recommandation d'envoyer au déclarant un avertissement écrit au nom du Directeur des enquêtes ou au nom du commissaire si l'allégation est fondée.

Cet avertissement écrit avisera le déclarant, qu'après une étude de différents facteurs, comme ses antécédents en matière de conformité et les efforts déployés pour assurer celle-ci, aucune autre mesure ne sera prise. L'avertissement précisera également que, si le déclarant ne respecte pas certaines exigences en vertu de la Loi, il peut faire l'objet d'un examen plus formel dont les résultats peuvent mener à une enquête formelle en vertu de la Loi, un rapport au Parlement ou un renvoi à un agent de la paix. La correspondance est conservée dans le dossier d'examen administratif. Une surveillance du déclarant est effectuée par le CAL dans le but de s'assurer que la conformité se poursuive.

II — Examen administratif — Niveau deux

Après avoir évalué les facteurs susmentionnés, le CAL peut déterminer que la gravité de l'infraction est moyenne-élevée.

La Direction des enquêtes effectue un examen administratif, dresse un plan et rencontre le sujet, son employeur, ses clients, les titulaires d'une charge publique et toutes autres sources d'information pertinentes. Un rapport complet de l'examen administratif est présenté au commissaire comprenant une description des antécédents et du contexte, une analyse et une recommandation quant aux mesures à adopter pour assurer la conformité. L'analyse comprend une évaluation de l'actus reus (si une infraction a été commise ou non) et, selon les facteurs susmentionnés, des mesures adaptées sont recommandées pour assurer la conformité.

III — Enquête en vertu de la Loi sur le lobbying

En vertu du paragraphe 10.4(1) de la Loi, le commissaire ouvre une enquête s'il a des raisons de croire, selon l'information comprise dans le rapport de l'examen administratif ou fournie par un parlementaire, qu'une enquête est nécessaire au contrôle d'application du Code de déontologie des lobbyistes ou à la Loi sur le lobbying, le cas échéant.

Dans la plupart des cas, la direction des enquêtes a déjà évalué les facteurs susmentionnés dans le rapport de l'examen administratif et le commissaire a conclu que la gravité de l'infraction est telle qu'il doit faire l'objet d'un rapport d'enquête en vertu de l'article 10.5 de la Loi. La Direction des enquêtes fournit au commissaire un rapport d'enquête qui, une fois approuvé, est envoyé au sujet afin de lui permettre de présenter son point de vue au commissaire, tel que l'exige le paragraphe 10.4(5) de la Loi.

Lorsque le sujet a présenté son point de vue, le commissaire prépare un rapport d'enquête dans lequel il motive ses conclusions. Le rapport est ensuite présenté au président du Sénat et au président de la Chambre des communes afin d'être déposé au Parlement.

IV — Renvoi à un agent de la paix

Si, au cours d'une enquête effectuée en vertu du paragraphe 10.4(1) de la Loi, le commissaire a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'une personne a commis une infraction en vertu de cette loi, de tout autre loi du Parlement ou d'une loi provinciale, il est tenu, en vertu du paragraphe 10.4(7) de la Loi, d'en aviser un agent de la paix compétent pour mener une enquête relativement à l'infraction.

Le commissaire fait parvenir une lettre à l'agent de la paix compétent, ainsi qu'une copie du dossier d'examen administratif ou du rapport d'enquête et toutes les preuves pertinentes. L'enquête du CAL est alors suspendue jusqu'à ce que le dossier soit traité par les autorités pertinentes, tel que l'exigent les paragraphes 10.4(8) et 10.4(9) de la Loi.

Lorsque l'agent de la paix retourne le dossier, selon ses conclusions, la question est de nouveau évaluée par le CAL à la lumière du Code de déontologie des lobbyistes. Après avoir tenu compte de l'avis de l'agent de la paix, le commissaire évaluera s'il existe des motifs suffisants pour procéder à une enquête en vertu du Code.

31 décembre 2010