Report on Investigation — The Lobbying Activities of Keith Beardsley (page 4 of 9)

Investigations of Alleged Breaches of the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct

Lobbyists have a legal obligation to comply with the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct. Under the Lobbying Act, the Commissioner is required to conduct an investigation if the Commissioner has reason to believe that an investigation is necessary to ensure compliance with the Act or the Code, as applicable.

Breaches of the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct do not result in sanctions of a penal nature, as they do not carry fines or jail sentences. However, the Commissioner is required to table a report of the investigation, including the findings, conclusions, and reasons for those conclusions, in both Houses of Parliament. A breach of the Code can occur as a result of a breach of either a principle or a rule. There is no limitation period for investigating breaches of the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct.

The following Report on Investigation concerns the activities of an individual who, I have concluded, engaged in registrable lobbying activity under the Lobbying Act. When a person engages in registrable lobbying activity, that person becomes subject to the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct. However, Mr. Beardsley, as a former designated public office holder, was subject to the five-year prohibition on lobbying set out in section 10.11 of the Lobbying Act and is thus prohibited from engaging in lobbying activities until July 5, 2013.

Rapport d'enquête — Les activités de lobbying de Keith Beardsley (page 4 de 9)

Enquêtes sur des allégations d'infractions au Code de déontologie des lobbyistes

Les lobbyistes sont tenus par la loi de se conformer au Code de déontologie des lobbyistes. Aux termes de la Loi sur le lobbying, la commissaire doit faire enquête lorsqu'elle a des raisons de croire qu'une enquête est nécessaire au contrôle d'application de la Loi ou du Code.

Les infractions au Code de déontologie des lobbyistes n'entraînent pas de sanctions pénales, c'est-à-dire des amendes ou des peines d'emprisonnement, mais la commissaire est tenue de déposer un rapport d'enquête, qui comprend ses constatations, ses conclusions et les motifs de ses conclusions, devant les deux chambres du Parlement. Tant la contravention d'un principe que d'une règle constitue une infraction au Code. Il n'y a pas de délai de prescription pour mener des enquêtes sur les allégations d'infractions au Code de déontologie des lobbyistes.

Le présent rapport d'enquête concerne les activités d'une personne qui, selon la conclusion à laquelle je suis arrivée, s'est livrée à une activité de lobbying nécessitant un enregistrement à titre de lobbyiste en vertu de la Loi sur le lobbying. Lorsqu'une personne se livre à une telle activité, elle devient assujettie au Code de déontologie des lobbyistes. Cependant, M. Beardsley, en tant qu'ancien titulaire d'une charge publique désignée, était visé au moment des faits par l'interdiction quinquennale d'exercer des activités de lobbying prévue à l'article 10.11 de la Loi sur le lobbying, à laquelle il est assujetti jusqu'au 5 juillet 2013.