News Release

Former designated public office holder found in breach of the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct

For immediate release

Ottawa, June 15, 2012 — The Commissioner of Lobbying, Karen E. Shepherd, tabled a Report on Investigation today in both Houses of Parliament on the activities of Keith Beardsley.

The Commissioner concluded that Mr. Beardsley was in breach of the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct. She determined that Mr. Beardsley engaged in registrable lobbying activities while subject to the five-year prohibition on lobbying that applies to former designated public office holders.

"Mr. Beardsley was prohibited from engaging in lobbying activity defined by the Lobbying Act," the Commissioner stated. "I found that, for payment and on behalf of a client, he attempted to arrange a meeting with a public office holder, which is an activity that requires registration by consultant lobbyists. As he was prohibited from engaging in registrable lobbying activities, I concluded that he breached the Principle of Professionalism of the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct."

The purpose of the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct is to assure the Canadian public that lobbying is done ethically and with the highest standards, with a view to increasing public confidence and trust in the integrity, objectivity and impartiality of government decision-making.

Breaches of the Code carry no fines or jail terms. After conducting an investigation under the Code, the Commissioner is required to table a Report to Parliament to present her findings and conclusions, and the reasons for those conclusions.

Please consult the report for further details.

– 30 –

For more information, contact:

Telephone: 613-952-4306
Email: media@ocl-cal.gc.ca

Communiqué

Un ancien titulaire d'une charge publique désignée enfreint le Code de déontologie des lobbyistes

Pour diffusion immédiate

Ottawa, le 15 juin 2012 — La commissaire au lobbying, Karen E. Shepherd, a déposé aujourd'hui devant les deux chambres du Parlement son Rapport d'enquête au sujet des activités de Keith Beardsley

La commissaire a conclu que M. Beardsley avait enfreint le Code de déontologie des lobbyistes. Elle a déterminé que M. Beardsley s'était livré à des activités de lobbying nécessitant une déclaration alors qu'il était assujetti à l'interdiction quinquennale d'exercer des activités de lobbying qui s'applique aux anciens titulaires d'une charge publique désignée.

« Il était interdit à M. Beardsley d'exercer des activités de lobbying au sens de la Loi sur le lobbying », a déclaré la commissaire. « J'ai constaté que, moyennant paiement et pour le compte d'un client, il a tenté d'organiser une réunion avec un titulaire de charge publique, ce qui constitue une activité nécessitant une déclaration par les lobbyistes-conseils. Comme il lui était interdit de se livrer à des activités de lobbying devant faire l'objet d'une déclaration, je conclus qu'il a enfreint le principe du professionnalisme du Code de déontologie des lobbyistes. »

Le Code de déontologie des lobbyistes a pour objet de rassurer le public canadien au sujet des normes d'éthique élevées que doivent respecter les lobbyistes de façon à préserver et accroître la confiance du public dans l'intégrité, l'objectivité et l'impartialité de la prise de décisions du gouvernement.

Les infractions au Code ne sont pas passibles d'amendes ou de peines d'emprisonnement. À la suite d'une enquête en vertu du Code, la commissaire doit déposer un rapport au Parlement pour présenter ses constatations, ses conclusions et les motifs de ses conclusions.

Veuillez consulter le rapport pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

– 30 –

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Téléphone : 613-952-4306
Courriel : media@ocl-cal.gc.ca