Governance Structure

The Commissioner of Lobbying is an independent Agent of Parliament, appointed by Parliament under the Lobbying Act (the Act) for a term of seven years. The Commissioner reports annually to both Houses of Parliament. Reports on Investigation conducted in relation to the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct are tabled in Parliament when completed.

An Audit and Evaluation Committee provides objective advice and recommendations to the Commissioner. The committee is comprised of three external members and the Commissioner.

The Office, when fully staffed, has 28 full-time employees and an overall budget of about $4 million. It is divided into four groups.

  • Karen E. Shepherd,
    Commissioner of Lobbying
    • Deputy Commissioner
      and Chief Financial Officer
    • Director of Registration
      and Client Services
    • Director of
      Investigations
  • The Office of the Commissioner includes the the Commissioner, Legal Counsel, a Senior Advisor and an Executive Assistant. The Commissioner has the rank and powers of a Deputy Head of a federal department.
  • The Office of the Deputy Commissioner and Chief Financial Officer is responsible for all corporate services, including: integrated strategic and operational planning; financial and human resource management; information technology; strategic policy; internal and external communications advice; audit and evaluation, security; facilities management; and workplace safety. The Deputy Commissioner and Chief Financial Officer is also responsible for the coordination and delivery of all outreach activities.
  • The Registration and Client Services Directorate is responsible for developing and maintaining the Lobbyists Registration System (LRS). The LRS allows lobbyists to register their lobbying activities and perform transactions, such as amendments, renewals and terminations. This group provides assistance to registrants, public office holders and the general public in using the LRS and in searching the Registry.
  • The Investigations Directorate is responsible for supporting the Commissioner in her mandate to ensure compliance with the Lobbying Act and the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct. The directorate monitors lobbying activities, verifies the accuracy of monthly communication reports submitted by lobbyists, and reviews and investigates allegations of non-compliance. It also reviews applications for exemptions to the five-year prohibition on lobbying for former designated public office holders.

Structure de l'autorité

La commissaire au lobbying est un agent indépendant du Parlement nommé par le Parlement en vertu de la Loi sur le lobbying (la Loi) pour un mandat de sept ans. La commissaire présente chaque année un rapport aux deux chambres du Parlement. Les Rapports d'enquête effectuée relativement au Code sont déposés au Parlement lorsqu'ils sont complétés.

Un Comité de vérification et d'évaluation fournit à la commissaire des conseils objectifs et des recommandations. Le comité comprend trois membres externes et la commissaire.

Le Commissariat, lorsqu’il est pleinement doté, dispose d’un effectif de 28 employés à temps plein et d’un budget global d’environ 4 millions de dollars. Il est divisé en quatre groupes :

  • Karen E. Shepherd,
    Commissaire au Lobbying
    • Commissaire adjoint
      et Dirigeant principal des finances
    • Directeur
      de l'enregistrement
      et service à la clientèle
    • Directeur des
      enquêtes
  • Le Bureau de la commissaire comprend la Commissaire, un avocat-conseil principal, une conseillère principale et une adjointe administrative. La commissaire possède le rang et les pouvoirs d’un administrateur général de ministère fédéral.
  • Le Bureau du commissaire adjoint et Dirigeant principal des finances est responsable de tous les services internes, englobant la planification intégrée stratégique et opérationnelle, la gestion des ressources financières et humaines, la technologie de l’information, les politiques stratégiques, la prestation de conseils sur les communications internes et externes, la vérification et l’évaluation, la sécurité, la gestion des installations et la santé et sécurité au travail. Le commissaire adjoint et dirigeant principal des finances est également chargé de la coordination et de la prestation de toutes les activités de sensibilisation.
  • La Direction de l'enregistrement et des services à la clientèle est chargée de concevoir et de maintenir le Système d’enregistrement des lobbyistes (SEL). Le SEL permet aux lobbyistes de déclarer leurs activités de lobbying et de procéder à des opérations comme des modifications, des renouvellements et des résiliations. Ce groupe fournit une assistance aux déclarants, aux titulaires d’une charge publique et au grand public en ce qui a trait à l’utilisation du SEL et aux recherches dans le Registre.
  • La Direction des enquêtes est chargée d'appuyer la commissaire dans son mandat d'assurer la conformité à la Loi sur le lobbying et le Code de déontologie de lobbyistes. La Direction surveille les activités de lobbying, vérifie l'exactitude des rapports mensuels de communications des lobbyistes, et réalise des examens et des enquêtes sur les allégations de non-conformité. Elle examine également les demandes d'exemption de l'interdiction quinquennale d'exercer des activités de lobbying présentées par les anciens titulaires d'une charge publique désignée.