The Lobbying Act

The Lobbying Act Justice Canada website and its related Regulations came into force simultaneously on July 2, 2008. See below for key events in the history of the Canadian lobbyists registration regime

The Lobbying Act is based on four key principles.

  • Free and open access to government is an important matter of public interest.
  • Lobbying public office holders is a legitimate activity.
  • It is desirable that public office holders and the general public be able to know who is engaged in lobbying activities.
  • The system of registration of paid lobbyists should not impede free and open access to government.

The Act applies to individuals who are paid to lobby. People who lobby on a voluntary basis are not required to register.

The Lobbying Act identifies three types of lobbyists:

Consultant Lobbyist

  • A person who is hired to communicate on behalf of a client. This individual may be a professional lobbyist but could also be any individual who, in the course of his or her work for a client, communicates with or arranges meetings with a public office holder.

In-House Lobbyist (Corporations)

  • A person who works for compensation in an entity that operates for profit.

In-House Lobbyist (Organizations)

  • A person who works for compensation in a non-profit entity.

Note: Registration requirements for in-house lobbyists (corporations and organizations) are subject to a test regarding the amount of lobbying that they do.

Key Events in the History of the Canadian Lobbyists Registration Regime

2010

The Designated Public Office Holder Regulations were amended September 20, 2010. As a result, the definition of a designated public office holder was expanded to include all Members of Parliament and all Senators, as well as any staff working in the offices of the Leaders of the Opposition in the House of Commons and the Senate, appointed pursuant to subsection 128(1) of the Public Service Employment Act. This brings the total of positions or classes of positions designated by way of regulation to 14.

2008

The Lobbying Act and associated regulations come into force on July 2, 2008. Important changes introduced include:

  • The position of Registrar of Lobbyists is repealed and the Commissioner of Lobbying, an independent Agent of Parliament, is created. The Commissioner is provided with expanded investigative powers and an education mandate.
  • A new category of public office holder is identified within the federal government. Known as designated public office holders (DPOH), the Lobbying Act defines the category as including: Ministers of the Crown or Ministers of State and any person employed in their offices who are appointed under subsection 128(1) of the Public Service Employment Act; public office holders, who occupy senior executive positions, whether by the title of deputy minister, chief executive officer or by some other title, or associate deputy ministers, assistant deputy ministers, or occupy a position of comparable rank. A further 11 positions were designated by regulation.
  • A five-year, post-employment prohibition on lobbying is imposed on all former DPOHs and designated former members of prime ministerial transition teams. The Lobbying Act states that they cannot become a consultant lobbyist or an in-house lobbyist employed by an organization. They may still be employed by a corporation as an in-house lobbyist, if lobbying activities do not constitute a "significant part of their duties".
  • Lobbyists are required to disclose certain details regarding their "oral and arranged" communications with DPOHs. DPOHs, for their part, are required to confirm to the Commissioner the accuracy of the information submitted by lobbyists.
  • Payments or other benefits that are contingent on the outcome of any consultant lobbyist's activity are banned.
  • The period during which possible infractions or violations under the Lobbying Act and the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct may be investigated and prosecution may be initiated is extended from two to ten years.
  • Monetary penalties for lobbyists who are found guilty of breaching the requirements of the Lobbying Act are increased to a maximum of $200,000 or imprisonment for a term not exceeding two years, or both.
  • The Commissioner is given the authority to prohibit individuals convicted of offences under the Act from conducting lobbying activities for a period of up to two years.
  • Mandatory electronic filing of all disclosures is introduced, but exceptions are provided for disabled individuals and those without access to a computer.

2006

A further move towards greater independence of the Office of the Registrar of Lobbyists was made in February 2006, when the Office was transferred to the portfolio of the President of the Treasury Board as an independent entity.

Bill C-2, the Federal Accountability Act (FedAA), was introduced in Parliament on April 11, 2006 and received Royal Assent on December 12, 2006. The FedAA included changes to the Lobbyists Registration Act, with the name of the Act to the Lobbying Act to reflect its broader scope.

2005

The Regulations Amending the Lobbyists Registration Act and the Act to amend the Lobbyists Registration Act, came into force on June 20, 2005. The following major changes were made to the Act:

  • A clearer definition of "lobbying" was provided.
  • It was clarified that a person making simple enquiries or requests for information did not have to register as a lobbyist.
  • There was no longer an exemption from registration if a public office holder initiated contact with a lobbyist.
  • All categories of lobbyists were required to update or renew their filings every six months.
  • Former public office holders engaged in lobbying were required to provide information on previous positions held within the federal government.
  • The registration requirements for both categories of in-house lobbyists (those who work for corporations and those who work for non-profit organizations) were aligned. The most senior officer of a corporation or of a non-profit organization was made accountable for registering all employees who lobby.
  • While conducting an investigation, the Registrar was required to notify the police if there were reasonable grounds to believe that a criminal offence has been committed under the Act.

2004

In January 2004, the Government introduced Bill C-4, which came into effect in May 2004. The new legislation changed the reporting structure under the Lobbyists Registration Act, so that the Registrar reported to Parliament directly through the Registrar General of Canada (the Minister of Industry). The position of Ethics Counsellor was eliminated. The Registrar assumed all responsibilities under the Lobbying Act. The Office of the Registrar of Lobbyists became an administrative unit within Industry Canada.

2002–2003

The government introduced Bill C-15, An Act to Amend the Lobbyists Registration Act in the House of Commons on October 23, 2002. This bill received Royal Assent on June 11, 2003.

1995–1997

The government introduced Bill C-43, An Act to Amend the Lobbyists Registration Act and to make related amendments to other Acts. It proposed amendments to the Act that strengthened the disclosure requirements to make more meaningful and comprehensive information available about lobbyists and their lobbying activities. The amendments came into force on January 31, 1996. At that time, the responsibility for making decisions under the Act was assigned to the Ethics Counsellor.

The amended legislation also mandated the development of a code of conduct for lobbyists. After extensive consultations, including review by the House of Commons Standing Committee on Procedure and House Affairs, the Code came into force on March 1, 1997. The Ethics Counsellor was responsible for upholding the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct.

1989

The Lobbyists Registration Act came into force on September 30, 1989. It set basic requirements for the registration of paid lobbyists, including that lobbyists were to provide information about themselves and the subject matter of their lobbying.

La Loi sur le lobbying

    La Loi sur le lobbying Site Web de Justice Canada et les règlements afférents sont entrés en vigueur simultanément le 2 juillet 2008. Voir ci-dessous pour les étapes clés de l'évolution du régime d'enregistrement des lobbyistes du Canada.

    La Loi sur le lobbying est fondée sur quatre grands principes :

    • l'intérêt public présenté par la liberté d'accès aux institutions de l'État;
    • la légitimité du lobbyisme auprès des titulaires d'une charge publique;
    • l'opportunité d'accorder aux titulaires d'une charge publique et au public la possibilité de savoir qui se livre à des activités de lobbyisme;
    • le fait que l'enregistrement des lobbyistes rémunérés ne doit pas faire obstacle à cette liberté d'accès.

    La Loi s'applique aux personnes rémunérées pour faire du lobbying. Les personnes qui en font à titre bénévole ne sont pas tenues de s'enregistrer.

    La Loi sur le lobbying définit trois catégories de lobbyistes :

    Lobbyiste-conseil

    • Personne engagée pour communiquer au nom d'un client. Il peut s'agir d'un particulier ou un lobbyiste professionnel rémunéré, dont les services ont été retenus pour communiquer avec un titulaire de charge publique (TCP) au nom d'un client, ou organiser une rencontre entre un client et un TCP.

    Lobbyiste salarié (personnes morales)

    • Personne qui est rémunérée pour son travail au sein d'une entité à but lucratif.

    Lobbyiste salarié (organisations)

    • Personne rémunérée pour son travail au sein d'une entité sans but lucratif.

    Nota : Les obligations relatives à l'enregistrement des lobbyistes salariés (personnes morales et organisations) sont assujetties à un critère lié à la quantité de lobbying qu'ils font.

    Étapes clés de l'évolution du régime d'enregistrement des lobbyistes du Canada

    2010

    Le Règlement désignant certains postes comme postes de titulaire d'une charge publique désignée a été modifié le 20 septembre 2010. En conséquence, la définition d'un titulaire de charge publique désignée a été élargie de manière à inclure tous les députés et tous les sénateurs, ainsi que les employés travaillant dans les bureaux du chef de l'opposition à la Chambre des communes et au Sénat, nommés en vertu du paragraphe 128(1) de la Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique. Cela porte à 14 le nombre total de postes ou de catégories de postes désignés par règlement.

    2008

    La Loi sur le lobbying et les règlements afférents sont entrés en vigueur le 2 juillet 2008. Les modifications importantes apportées comprennent les suivantes :

    • Le poste de directeur des lobbyistes est aboli et celui de commissaire au lobbying, mandataire indépendant du Parlement, est créé. Le commissaire est doté de pouvoirs d'enquêtes accrus et d'un mandat de sensibilisation.
    • Une nouvelle catégorie de titulaires de charge publique au sein du gouvernement fédéral est définie, soit celle de titulaire d'une charge publique désignée (TCPD). La Loi sur le lobbying définit la catégorie comme suit : ministres ou ministres d'État et les membres du personnel de son cabinet nommés au titre du paragraphe 128(1) de la Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique; tout autre titulaire d'une charge publique qui occupe soit le poste de premier dirigeant, notamment le sous-ministre ou le directeur général, soit le poste de sous-ministre délégué, de sous-ministre adjoint ou un poste de rang équivalent. Onze autres postes ont été désignés par règlement
    • Une interdiction d'exercer des activités de lobbying pendant cinq ans est imposée aux anciens TCPD et aux anciens membres désignés des équipes de transition du premier ministre. La Loi sur le lobbying dit qu'ils ne peuvent devenir lobbyistes-conseils ni lobbyistes salariés d'une organisation. Ils peuvent toutefois être à l'emploi d'une personne morale comme lobbyistes salariés, si les activités de lobbying ne représentent pas une « partie importante de leurs fonctions ».
    • Les lobbyistes sont tenus de divulguer certains détails relatifs à leurs communications « orales et organisées » avec des TCPD. Pour leur part, les TCPD sont tenus de confirmer au commissaire l'information fournie par les lobbyistes.
    • Les paiements ou autres avantages conditionnels aux résultats de toute activité menée par un lobbyiste-conseil sont interdits.
    • La période au cours de laquelle les infractions ou les contraventions à la Loi sur le lobbying et au Code de déontologie des lobbyistes peuvent faire l'objet d'enquêtes et de poursuites est prolongée de deux à dix ans.
    • Le montant des amendes imposées aux lobbyistes reconnus coupables d'infractions aux exigences de la Loi sur le lobbying est porté à un maximum de 200 000 $ ou à une peine d'emprisonnement d'au plus deux ans, ou les deux.
    • Le commissaire est autorisé à interdire aux personnes reconnues coupables d'une infraction à la Loi d'effectuer des activités de lobbying pendant un maximum de deux ans.
    • L'obligation de produire les déclarations par voie électronique est mise en œuvre, mais des exceptions sont prévues pour les personnes handicapées et celles qui n'ont pas accès à un ordinateur.

    2006

    Un pas de plus vers une plus grande autonomie du Bureau du directeur des lobbyistes (BDL) est franchi en février 2006, quand le Bureau est transféré au portefeuille du président du Conseil du Trésor, en tant qu'entité indépendante.

    Le projet de loi C-2, intitulé Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité (LFR), est déposé au Parlement le 11 avril 2006 et reçoit la sanction royale le 12 décembre 2006. La LFR comporte des modifications à la Loi sur l'enregistrement des lobbyistes, laquelle est notamment rebaptisée la Loi sur le lobbying, afin d'illustrer sa portée plus étendue.

    2005

    Le Règlement modifiant le Règlement désignant certains postes comme postes de titulaire d'une charge publique désignée ainsi que la Loi modifiant la Loi sur l'enregistrement des lobbyistes entrent simultanément en vigueur le 20 juin 2005. Les principales modifications apportées à la Loi sont les suivantes :

    • Une définition plus claire de « lobbyisme » est fournie.
    • Il y est précisé qu'une personne qui présente de simples questions ou demandes de renseignements n'est pas tenue de s'enregistrer en tant que lobbyiste.
    • L'exemption en matière d'enregistrement concernant les communications effectuées à la demande d'un titulaire de charge publique est supprimée.
    • Les lobbyistes de toutes catégories doivent dorénavant mettre à jour ou renouveler leurs déclarations tous les six mois.
    • Tout ancien titulaire de charge publique faisant du lobbying doit maintenant préciser quel(s) poste(s) il a occupé(s) au sein du gouvernement fédéral.
    • Les exigences en matière d'enregistrement pour les deux catégories de lobbyistes salariés (ceux qui travaillent pour des entreprises et ceux qui travaillent pour des organisations sans but lucratif) sont harmonisées. Il incombe dorénavant au cadre dirigeant de rang le plus élevé de l'entreprise ou de l'organisation d'enregistrer tous les employés qui font du lobbying.
    • Dans le cadre de toute enquête, le directeur doit maintenant aviser les forces policières s'il a des motifs raisonnables de croire qu'une infraction criminelle a été commise en vertu de la Loi.

    2004

    En janvier 2004, le gouvernement dépose le projet de loi C-4 qui entre en vigueur en mai 2004. La nouvelle Loi modifie la structure redditionnelle prévue dans l'ancienne Loi sur l'enregistrement des lobbyistes, de telle sorte que le directeur relève directement du Parlement par l'entremise du Registraire général du Canada (le ministre de l'Industrie). Le poste de conseiller en éthique est aboli. Le directeur assume toutes les responsabilités prévues dans la Loi sur le lobbying. Le Bureau du directeur des lobbyistes devient alors une unité administrative au sein d'Industrie Canada.

    2002-2003

    Le gouvernement dépose le projet de loi C-15, intitulé Loi modifiant la Loi sur l'enregistrement des lobbyistes, à la Chambre des Communes le 23 octobre 2002. Ce projet reçoit la sanction royale le 11 juin 2003.

    1995-1997

    Le gouvernement dépose le projet de loi C-43, intitulé Loi modifiant la Loi sur l'enregistrement des lobbyistes et d'autres lois en conséquence. Il propose des modifications législatives qui renforcent les obligations de divulguer plus de renseignements sur les lobbyistes et leurs activités. Les modifications adoptées entrent en vigueur le 31 janvier 1996. À l'époque, c'est le conseiller en éthique qui a la responsabilité de rendre des décisions en vertu de la Loi.

    La loi modifiée prévoit aussi l'élaboration d'un Code de déontologie des lobbyistes. Au terme de vastes consultations, y compris un examen par le Comité permanent de la procédure et des affaires de la Chambre des communes, le Code entre en vigueur le 1er mars 1997, et c'est le conseiller en éthique qui est responsable de son application.

    1989

    La Loi sur l'enregistrement des lobbyistes entre en vigueur le 30 septembre 1989. Elle stipule les conditions générales d'enregistrement des lobbyistes, exigeant notamment qu'ils fournissent des renseignements sur leur personne ainsi que sur l'objet de leurs activités de lobbying.