The Lobbyists' Code of Conduct

The Lobbyists' Code of Conduct (the Code) is the result of extensive consultations with a large number of people and organizations interested in promoting public trust in the integrity of government decision-making. The Code was reviewed in the fall of 1996 by the House of Commons Standing Committee on Procedure and House Affairs, published in the Canada Gazette on February 8, 1997, and came into effect on March 1, 1997.

The purpose of the Code is to assure the Canadian public that lobbying is done ethically and with the highest standards with a view to conserving and enhancing public confidence and trust in the integrity, objectivity and impartiality of government decision-making. In this regard, the Code complements the registration requirements of the Lobbying Act, which came into force on July 2, 2008.

Lobbyists — individuals who are paid to communicate with federal public office holders — are required to comply with the code. The term "public office holder" applies to virtually anyone occupying a position in the federal government. It includes members of the Senate and the House of Commons and their staff, officers and employees of federal departments and agencies, members of the Canadian Armed Forces and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

The preamble of the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct states its purposes and situates the Code in a broader context. The preamble is followed by a body of overriding principles and a set of specific rules. The principles set out the goals and objectives to be attained, without establishing precise standards. The accompanying rules provide more detailed requirements for behaviour related to the principles in applied situations.

The Commissioner of Lobbying has the authority to administer and enforce the Lobbyists' Code of Conduct if there is an alleged breach of either a principle or a rule of the Code.

Le Code de déontologie des lobbyistes

Le Code de déontologie des lobbyistes (le Code) est le fruit de nombreuses consultations auprès d'un large éventail de personnes et de groupes intéressés à accroître la confiance du public dans l'intégrité du processus décisionnel de l'État. Il a été soumis à l'examen du Comité permanent de la procédure et des affaires de la Chambre des communes à l'automne 1996 et a été publié dans la Gazette du Canada, le 8 février 1997. Le code est entré en vigueur le 1er mars 1997.

L'objet du Code est de rassurer le public canadien au sujet des normes d'éthique élevées que doivent respecter les lobbyistes de façon à préserver et à faire croître la confiance du public dans l'intégrité, l'objectivité et l'impartialité de la prise de décisions du gouvernement. À cet égard, le Code vient compléter les exigences d'enregistrement de la Loi sur le lobbying entrée en vigueur le 2 juillet 2008.

Les lobbyistes, c'est-à-dire toutes les personnes rémunérées pour communiquer avec des titulaires fédéraux d'une charge publique au sujet de certaines décisions gouvernementales, sont tenus de se conformer au code. La terme « titulaire d'une charge publique » désigne presque toutes les personnes qui occupent un poste au sein du gouvernement fédéral, y compris les sénateurs, les députés ainsi que leur personnel, les agents et les employés des ministères et des agences, de même que les membres des Forces armées canadiennes et de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada.

Le préambule du Code en établit les objectifs en le situe dans un contexte général. Il est suivi d'un ensemble de principes ainsi que de règles particulières. Les principes présentent les buts et objectifs à atteindre, sans toutefois définir de normes précises. Quant aux règles, elles précisent les exigences en matière de comportement à adopter dans certaines situations.

La commissaire au lobbying a le pouvoir d'administrer et de contrôler l'application du Code en cas de violation présumée d'un principe ou d'une règle qu'il contient.