Report on Investigation — The Lobbying Activities of Mark Jiles

Findings

Report of the Investigations Directorate

The Investigations Directorate examined whether Mr. Jiles engaged in activities requiring registration as a lobbyist. Evidence was obtained from various sources, including federal public office holders, Mr. Jiles and his clients, supporting the following findings.

The State of Washington

With respect to whether Mr. Jiles undertook to arrange a meeting between one or more federal public office holders and representatives of the State of Washington, it is clear that Mr. Jiles and the Progressive Group entered into two contracts for services with the State of Washington Department of Community, Trade and Economic Development. Those contracts were for the periods May to September 2006 and January to June 2007. As the state's contractor, Mr. Jiles was described as being responsible for assisting the Washington State 2010 [Olympic] Task Force in developing relationships with stakeholder groups. The contract specified that the contractor was responsible for developing a 'Relations Building Program' with key business and government decision makers. The Honourable David Emerson, federal minister responsible for the 2010 Olympics, is listed as a key individual within targeted business, political and Olympic circles.

In May 2006, Mr. Jiles contacted Minister Emerson's ministerial assistant and asked her to meet with representatives of the State of Washington. The ministerial assistant met with a number of key officials from the State of Washington in the Minister's British Columbia regional office to discuss business opportunities in relation to the 2010 Olympics. A delegation from the State of Washington attended an event in Vancouver on October 18, 2006, that was coordinated by the Progressive Group and attended by a federal public office holder.

With respect to whether Mr. Jiles engaged in registrable lobbying activities for payment, the Investigations Directorate determined that the first contract for professional services between the Progressive Group and the State of Washington provided that the state would pay the contractor $15,000 in two $7,500 instalments on May 30 and June 30, 2006. Invoices sent from the Progressive Group to the attention of the 2010 Olympics Program Manager, State of Washington (CTED), are described as concerning the "monthly retainer for consulting services by Mark Jiles and Patrick Kinsella as per agreement (includes expenses). Contract No. 06-22107-003." The second contract for professional services provided for payment of $32,500 for the period from January 12 to June 30, 2007. The Progressive Group sent six invoices to the State of Washington, each of which requested payments of $5,416. The invoices submitted by the Progressive Group were described as: "monthly retainer for consulting services provided by Mark Jiles and Patrick Kinsella."

After completing an investigation of the activities of the Progressive Group on behalf of the State of Washington, and in respect of the 2010 Olympics, the Investigations Directorate concluded that Mr. Jiles, for payment, arranged one or more meetings between public office holders and his client and, therefore, engaged in activity requiring registration under paragraph 5(1)(b) of the Lobbyists Registration Act2. He was required under subsection 5(1.1) of the Lobbyists Registration Act to file a consultant lobbyist return not later than 10 days after entering into an undertaking, but failed to do so.

The Motion Picture Production Industry Association of British Columbia (MPPIA)

In the complaint received by my Office, it was alleged that the Progressive Group engaged in unregistered lobbying on behalf of the Motion Picture Production Industry Association of British Columbia (MPPIA). The Progressive Group described its retainer for the MPPIA during the period of July 2005 to March 2007, as follows: "to convince the Provincial government to extend the foreign tax credits and to convince the Federal Government to drop the idea of taxing residual profits on motion pictures made in Canada."

The MPPIA describes itself as "…a broad-based film and television industry association 80 members strong and growing." The organization represents participants in the motion picture industry in British Columbia. It has an interest in working with various levels of government in order to improve competitiveness.

The Canadian Audio-Visual Certification Office is part of Canadian Heritage and is responsible for co-administering, along with the Canada Revenue Agency, two tax credit programs related to the movie industry: the Canadian Film or Video Production Tax Credit and the Film or Video Production Services Tax Credit. Those tax credits exist to encourage Canadian programming, develop the domestic production sector and enhance Canada as a location of choice for film and video productions employing Canadians. The tax credits allow corporations to claim labour expenditures incurred on certain productions.

The residual tax issue deals with the tax treatment of income derived from repeat broadcasts of programs. In addition to fees for services, actors involved in productions are entitled to additional "residual" payments that are based on repeat broadcasts. The Canada Revenue Agency takes the position that residual payments made to non-resident actors are subject to Canadian taxation and may be deferred to subsequent years.

The Investigations Directorate sought to determine whether federal public office holders at the Department of Canadian Heritage, including the offices of the Minister and Deputy Minister, had information regarding communications or meetings arranged by Mr. Jiles concerning this issue.

In an interview conducted by the Investigations Directorate, the chairman of the Motion Picture Production Industry Association of British Columbia indicated that Mr. Jiles has been working for the MPPIA since 2005. He was retained to provide government relations services, mostly at the municipal, regional and provincial levels and to stay aware of issues at the federal level.

During the period from 2006 to 2007, Mr. Jiles' efforts were directed primarily at the provincial level until the issue of a residual tax became an area of interest. Mr. Jiles organized meetings on behalf of the MPPIA with a number of federal public office holders, including cabinet ministers Gary Lunn, Chuck Strahl and Vic Toews, and with the Director of Regional Affairs in Minister Strahl's regional office.

The Investigations Directorate's review of the proposals and agreements involving the Blue Stone Group and the MPPIA indicate that the Blue Stone Group had developed a government relations strategy for its client. In a letter from the Blue Stone Group dated July 7, 2005, Mr. Jiles proposed a program to assist the MPPIA with a government relations strategy "…to advance the MPPIA's business objectives within the various levels of government." The letter described the objectives of the strategy as being: renewal of tax credits; caucus relations; and, relationships with key stakeholder groups. That contract was subsequently renewed in order to maintain, as Mr. Jiles indicated in a letter to the MPPIA dated January 10, 2006, "…on-going relationships with key stakeholder groups." In that letter, Mr. Jiles indicated that "…the federal government, which within the next week could potentially be a new government, needs to be educated on the impact that a residual tax on productions would have on the industry."

Mr. Jiles proposed a further renewal of his existing agreement with the MPPIA in a letter dated January 15, 2007, in which he indicated that a "provincial and federal government relations and reception" plan was included among the objectives of his government relations strategy. He indicated that he sought to "…facilitate opportunities for MPPIA to develop important relationships with key individuals within targeted bureaucratic and political circles", among them key federal ministers with regional responsibilities for British Columbia.

The Investigations Directorate determined that meetings with federal public office holders were arranged on behalf of the MPPIA by Mr. Jiles. Those meetings included a meeting with the Regional Affairs Director for the Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada on June 7, 2006, which Mr. Jiles arranged, but did not attend. The meeting with a federal public office holder employed by the Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food concerned issues concerning residual tax, immigration and border crossing. In that case, Mr. Jiles' role was limited to making the introduction. At the time of the meeting, the public office holder in question was the Director of Regional Affairs in the Vancouver office of the Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada.

On June 15, 2006, Mr. Jiles sent an email to his client containing an invitation to a breakfast with the federal Minister of Natural Resources, Gary Lunn. The meeting was scheduled to take place the following day in Vancouver. His client attended that meeting.

On November 7, 2006, Mr. Jiles sent an email to his client concerning upcoming meetings and a series of appointments, primarily with municipal or provincial officials, including a meeting with the Honourable Chuck Strahl, then Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada. The meeting with Minister Strahl took place on December 8, 2006, in the Minister's regional office and Mr. Jiles' clients had the opportunity to speak directly to Minister Strahl about issues of concern to the MPPIA. Mr. Jiles organized, but did not attend, the meeting.

In an email dated March 8, 2007, Mr. Jiles forwarded an invitation to attend a roundtable discussion with the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada, Vic Toews. The meeting took place on March 12, 2007. The discussion, organized by the British Columbia Institute of Technology Foundation, was described as an opportunity for British Columbia Institute of Technology executives and board members, and a small group of businessmen, to have an exchange with the Minister regarding matters of interest. His client attended that meeting.

The British Columbia minister's regional office plays the role of facilitator by connecting people in British Columbia with the government in Ottawa. The Investigations Directorate found that Mr. Jiles helped facilitate meetings between the minister's regional office and representatives of the British Columbia film industry. Those meetings involved issues such as the treatment of foreign workers in Canada and means of encouraging the American industry to film in Canada. Other meetings were on the issue of temporary workers and were within the jurisdiction of the Department of Human Resources and Skills Development (HRSDC). Mr. Jiles did not attend each meeting, but he did arrange the initial meeting on behalf of his clients.

The Investigations Directorate interviewed Mr. Jiles regarding the allegation that he conducted unregistered lobbying activities on behalf of the Motion Picture Production Industry Association of British Colombia (MPPIA). Mr. Jiles explained that he was paid to provide advice to the MPPIA on provincial issues. He indicated that he accompanied the chairperson of the MPPIA to meet with federal staff who wanted to establish a relationship with the industry.

After completing an investigation of the activities of Mr. Jiles on behalf of the MPPIA, the Investigations Directorate concluded that Mr. Jiles, for payment, arranged one or more meetings between public office holders and his client and, therefore, engaged in activity requiring registration under paragraph 5(1)(b) of the Lobbyists Registration Act3. He was required under subsection 5(1.1) of the Lobbyists Registration Act to file a consultant lobbyist return not later than 10 days after entering into an undertaking, but failed to do so.

Registration

Mr. Jiles was not registered as a consultant lobbyist for either the State of Washington or the Motion Picture Production Industry Association of British Columbia when the activities described in this report took place.


2 and 3 – The Lobbyists Registration Act, in effect during the period covered by this report, was amended and renamed the Lobbying Act by the Federal Accountability Act, S.C. 2006, c. 9. The amendments came into force on July 2, 2008. Return to reference 2 Return to reference 3

Rapport d'enquête — Les activités de lobbying de Mark Jiles

Constatations

Rapport de la Direction des enquêtes

La Direction des enquêtes a examiné les activités de M. Jiles afin de déterminer si celles ci nécessitaient son enregistrement comme lobbyiste. Des preuves ont été obtenues auprès de diverses sources, y compris auprès de titulaires d'une charge publique fédérale, de M. Jiles et de ses clients. Elles ont permis d'en arriver aux constatations suivantes.

L'État de Washington

Examinons d'abord ce qui nous a permis de déterminer si M. Jiles avait organisé une réunion entre un ou plusieurs titulaires d'une charge publique fédérale et des représentants de l'État de Washington. Tout d'abord, il est clair que le ministère responsable de la collectivité, du commerce et du développement économique (CTED) de l'État de Washington a conclu deux contrats de services avec M. Jiles et le Progressive Group pour les périodes de mai à septembre 2006 et de janvier à juin 2007. En tant qu'entrepreneur de l'État, M. Jiles y est décrit comme étant chargé d'aider le groupe de travail des Jeux olympiques de 2010 de l'État de Washington à développer des relations avec des groupes d'intervenants. Il est précisé que l'entrepreneur doit élaborer un programme d'établissement de relations avec des décideurs clés des secteurs public et privé. L'honorable David Emerson, ministre fédéral responsable des Jeux olympiques de 2010, est désigné comme une personne clé au sein des cercles des affaires, de la politique et des Jeux olympiques.

En mai 2006, M. Jiles a communiqué avec l'adjointe du ministre Emerson et lui a demandé de rencontrer des représentants de l'État de Washington. Celle-ci a rencontré plusieurs représentants importants de l'État de Washington au bureau régional du ministre en Colombie-Britannique afin de discuter d'occasions d'affaires en lien avec les Jeux olympiques de 2010. Une délégation de l'État de Washington a assisté à un événement coordonné par le Progressive Group à Vancouver le 18 octobre 2006, événement auquel un titulaire d'une charge publique a participé.

Quant à la question de savoir si M. Jiles s'était livré, moyennant paiement, à des activités de lobbying pour lesquelles il était tenu de s'enregistrer, la Direction des enquêtes a établi que le premier contrat de services professionnels entre le Progressive Group et l'État de Washington prévoyait que l'État paierait à l'entrepreneur une somme de 15 000 $ en deux versements de 7 500 $ les 30 mai et 30 juin 2006. Les factures envoyées par le Progressive Group à l'attention du gestionnaire de programme des Jeux olympiques de 2010, État de Washington (CTED), étaient décrites comme concernant la provision mensuelle pour les services d'experts-conseils de Mark Jiles et de Patrick Kinsella conformément à l'entente conclue (incluant les dépenses) dans le cadre du contrat no 06 22107-003. Le deuxième contrat de services professionnels prévoyait le paiement de la somme de 32 500 $ pour la période du 12 janvier au 30 juin 2007. Le Progressive Group a envoyé six factures à l'État de Washington, chacune d'elle demandant un paiement de 5 416 $. Les factures soumises par le Progressive Group étaient décrites comme concernant la provision mensuelle pour les services d'experts-conseils de Mark Jiles et de Patrick Kinsella.

Après avoir terminé son enquête concernant les activités du Progressive Group pour le compte de l'État de Washington à l'égard des Jeux olympiques de 2010, la Direction des enquêtes a conclu que M. Jiles, moyennant paiement, avait organisé une ou plusieurs réunions entre des titulaires d'une charge publique et son client et s'était donc livré à des activités pour lesquelles il était tenu de fournir une déclaration conformément à l'alinéa 5(1)b) de la Loi sur l'enregistrement des lobbyistes2. Il était également tenu, en vertu du paragraphe 5(1.1) de la Loi sur l'enregistrement des lobbyistes, de s'enregistrer à titre de lobbyiste-conseil au plus tard 10 jours suivant la prise de son engagement, ce qu'il a omis de faire.

La Motion Picture Production Industry Association of British Columbia (MPPIA)

La plainte reçue par le Commissariat au lobbying alléguait que le Progressive Group s'était livré à des activités de lobbying pour le compte de la Motion Picture Production Industry Association of British Columbia (MPPIA) sans les enregistrer. Le Progressive Group a indiqué que son travail de représentation de la MPPIA pour la période de juillet 2005 à mars 2007 avait consisté à convaincre le gouvernement provincial de prolonger la durée des crédits d'impôt étranger et à convaincre le gouvernement fédéral d'abandonner l'idée d'imposer les droits de suite des productions cinématographiques canadiennes.

La MPPIA se décrit comme une association de l'industrie du cinéma et de la télévision en plein essor comptant 80 membres. Elle représente des intervenants de l'industrie cinématographique de la Colombie-Britannique, et souhaite travailler avec divers ordres de gouvernement afin d'accroître la compétitivité de l'industrie.

Le Bureau de certification des produits audiovisuels canadiens (BCPAC) fait partie du ministère du Patrimoine canadien et est chargé de co-administrer, avec l'Agence du revenu du Canada, deux programmes de crédits d'impôt liés à l'industrie cinématographique : le Crédit d'impôt pour production cinématographique ou magnétoscopique canadienne et le Crédit d'impôt pour services de production cinématographique ou magnétoscopique. Ces crédits d'impôt visent à encourager la réalisation d'émissions canadiennes, à développer le secteur national de la production et à accroître la popularité du Canada en tant que lieu de choix pour les productions cinématographiques ou magnétoscopiques employant des Canadiens. Ils permettent aux sociétés de réduire leurs impôts en déclarant les dépenses de main d'œuvre engagées pour certaines productions.

La question de l'impôt sur les droits de suite concerne le traitement des revenus dérivés des rediffusions. En plus du cachet qu'ils reçoivent en échange de leurs services, les acteurs jouant dans les productions ont droit à des paiements additionnels, appelés « droits de suite », pour les rediffusions. L'Agence du revenu du Canada est d'avis que les droits de suite versés aux acteurs non-résidents sont des revenus imposables au Canada et peuvent être reportés aux années ultérieures.

La Direction des enquêtes a cherché à déterminer si des titulaires d'une charge publique fédérale au ministère du Patrimoine canadien, notamment des employés des cabinets du ministre et du sous-ministre, avaient de l'information en ce qui concerne des communications ou des réunions organisées par M. Jiles à ce sujet.

Dans une entrevue menée par la Direction des enquêtes, le président de la Motion Picture Production Industry Association of British Columbia a indiqué que M. Jiles travaillait depuis 2005 pour la MPPIA, qui avait fait appel à lui pour obtenir des services de relations gouvernementales, principalement aux niveaux municipal, régional et provincial. En outre, M. Jiles avait le mandat de se tenir au courant des enjeux sur la scène fédérale.

Avant que la question d'un impôt sur les droits de suite ne devienne un sujet d'intérêt, M. Jiles concentrait principalement ses efforts au niveau provincial. De 2006 à 2007, il a organisé des réunions pour le compte de la MPPIA avec plusieurs titulaires d'une charge publique fédérale, dont les ministres Gary Lunn, Chuck Strahl et Vic Toews, et avec le directeur des affaires régionales du bureau régional du ministre Strahl.

L'examen par la Direction des enquêtes des propositions et des ententes impliquant le Blue Stone Group et la MPPIA indique que le Blue Stone Group a élaboré une stratégie de relations gouvernementales pour son client. Dans une lettre du Blue Stone Group du 7 juillet 2005, M. Jiles a proposé un programme pour aider la MPPIA avec une stratégie de relations gouvernementales visant à défendre les intérêts commerciaux de la MPPIA auprès de divers ordres de gouvernement. La lettre décrivait les objectifs de la stratégie comme étant les suivants : renouvellement des crédits d'impôt, relations avec le caucus et relations avec les principaux groupes d'intervenants. Ce contrat a été renouvelé par la suite, afin de maintenir, comme M. Jiles l'a indiqué dans une lettre à la MPPIA du 10 janvier 2006, des relations continues avec les principaux groupes d'intervenants. Dans cette lettre, M. Jiles a affirmé que « […] le gouvernement fédéral, qui d'ici une semaine pourrait être un nouveau gouvernement, doit être éduqué sur les répercussions qu'aurait sur l'industrie un impôt sur les droits de suite. » [Traduction]

M. Jiles a proposé un autre renouvellement de son entente avec la MPPIA dans une lettre du 15 janvier 2007, dans laquelle il a indiqué qu'un plan de relations gouvernementales provinciales et fédérales faisait partie des objectifs de sa stratégie de relations gouvernementales. Il a indiqué qu'il souhaitait favoriser les occasions pour la MPPIA de développer des relations importantes avec des intervenants clés au sein de cercles bureaucratiques et politiques ciblés, parmi lesquels des ministres fédéraux clés avec des responsabilités régionales à l'égard de la Colombie-Britannique.

La Direction des enquêtes a déterminé que des réunions avec des titulaires d'une charge publique fédérale avaient été organisées pour le compte de la MPPIA par M. Jiles, y compris une réunion du 7 juin 2006 avec le directeur des affaires régionales du bureau de Vancouver du ministre d'Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada. M. Jiles a organisé cette réunion, mais n'y a pas assisté. La réunion portait sur des questions comme l'impôt sur les droits de suite, l'immigration et les mouvements transfrontaliers. Dans ce cas, le rôle de M. Jiles consistait seulement à faire les présentations.

Le 15 juin 2006, M. Jiles a envoyé à son client un courriel contenant une invitation à un déjeuner avec le ministre fédéral des Ressources naturelles, Gary Lunn, qui devait avoir lieu le jour suivant à Vancouver. Son client y a assisté.

Le 7 novembre 2006, M. Jiles a envoyé un courriel à son client concernant des réunions à venir et une série de rendez-vous, principalement avec des représentants municipaux et provinciaux, et comprenant une rencontre avec l'honorable Chuck Strahl, qui occupait alors le poste de ministre d'Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada. La rencontre avec le ministre Strahl a eu lieu le 8 décembre 2006 au bureau régional du ministre et les clients de M. Jiles ont eu l'occasion de parler directement au ministre Strahl des préoccupations de la MPPIA. M. Jiles a organisé la rencontre, mais n'y a pas assisté.

Dans un courriel du 8 mars 2007, M. Jiles a fait suivre une invitation d'assister à une table ronde avec le ministre de la Justice et procureur général du Canada, Vic Toews. Cette réunion a eu lieu le 12 mars 2007. La discussion, organisée par la British Columbia Institute of Technology Foundation, était décrite comme une occasion pour les cadres et les membres du conseil de l'institut, et un petit groupe de gens d'affaires, d'échanger avec le ministre au sujet de leurs intérêts. Le client de M. Jiles a assisté à cette réunion.

Le bureau régional du ministre en Colombie-Britannique joue le rôle d'intermédiaire entre les gens de la Colombie-Britannique et le gouvernement à Ottawa. La Direction des enquêtes a constaté que M. Jiles a aidé à organiser des réunions entre le bureau régional du ministre et des représentants de l'industrie cinématographique de la Colombie-Britannique. Ces réunions concernaient des enjeux comme le traitement des travailleurs étrangers au Canada et les moyens d'encourager l'industrie américaine de filmer au Canada. D'autres réunions concernaient la question des travailleurs temporaires et relevaient de la compétence du ministère des Ressources humaines et du Développement des compétences (RHDCC). M. Jiles n'a pas assisté à chacune de ces réunions, mais il a organisé la réunion initiale pour le compte de ses clients.

La Direction des enquêtes a interrogé M. Jiles à propos de l'allégation selon laquelle il se serait livré à des activités de lobbying pour le compte de la Motion Picture Production Industry Association (MPPIA) sans s'enregistrer. M. Jiles a expliqué qu'il était rémunéré pour fournir des conseils à la MPPIA en ce qui concerne des enjeux provinciaux. Il a indiqué qu'il avait accompagné le président de la MPPIA pour rencontrer des représentants du gouvernement fédéral souhaitant établir une relation avec l'industrie.

Après avoir terminé son enquête sur les activités de M. Jiles pour le compte de la MPPIA, la Direction des enquêtes a conclu que M. Jiles, moyennant paiement, avait organisé une ou plusieurs réunions entre des titulaires d'une charge publique et son client et s'était donc livré à des activités nécessitant une déclaration en vertu de l'alinéa 5(1)b) de la Loi sur l'enregistrement des lobbyistes3. Il était également tenu, en vertu du paragraphe 5(1.1) de la Loi sur l'enregistrement des lobbyistes, de s'enregistrer à titre de lobbyiste conseil au plus tard 10 jours suivant la prise de son engagement, ce qu'il a omis de faire.

Enregistrement

Lorsque les activités décrites dans ce rapport ont eu lieu, M. Jiles n'était pas enregistré comme lobbyiste ni pour l'État de Washington, ni pour la Motion Picture Production Industry Association of British Columbia.


2 et 3 – La Loi sur l'enregistrement des lobbyistes, en vigueur au cours de la période visée par ce rapport, a été modifiée et renommée Loi sur le lobbying par la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité, L.C. 2006, ch. 9. Ces modifications législatives sont entrées en vigueur le 2 juillet 2008. Retour à la référence 2 Retour à la référence 3